Two SEC Athletes On Latest Bowerman Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Athletes On Latest Bowerman Watch List

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Two Southeastern Conference track and field athletes – Auburn’s Harry Adams and Florida’s Omar Craddock – appear on the latest Men’s Watch List for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Wednesday.

    Each of the 10 student-athletes on the first regular-season edition of the watch list also appeared on the preseason edition.

    The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.

    Adams currently ranks fifth nationally in the 60 meters with a time of 6.64 set in his season debut at the Auburn Indoor Invitational, a race in which he finished runner-up by .01 to teammate Marcus Rowland. He finished runner-up in the 100 meters at the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships, recording a 2012 collegiate-best 9.96 in the semifinals. His time of 9.96 made him the fifth-fastest American in 2012 and the 14th-fastest in the world, and he was the only collegian to run the 100 in fewer than 10 seconds.

    Craddock ranks second in the nation in the triple jump this season with a mark of 53-3¼ (16.26m), which came in his only triple jump competition of the season in a runner-up showing at the Razorback Invitational. He recorded three of the top five jumps in the nation – all farther than 53 feet – at the Razorback Invitational. Craddock won 2012 NCAA triple jump individual championships both indoors and outdoors. He won the indoor title with a mark of 54-11½ (16.75m), which made him the top collegian and the fifth-best American of 2012.

    Southern Utah’s Cam Levins and LSU’s Kimberlyn Duncan are the reigning winners of The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

    Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit

    For all of the latest information on SEC track and field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    The Bowerman Official Watch List – Men (Feb. 6, 2013)
    Harry Adams, Auburn

    Curtis Beach, Duke
    Jordan Clarke, Arizona State
    Omar Craddock, Florida
    Derek Drouin, Indiana
    Tim Glover, Illinois State
    Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech
    Erik Kynard, Kansas State
    Lawi Lalang, Arizona
    Alexander Ziegler, Virginia Tech

    Also Receiving Mention
    Shawn Barber, Akron
    Mike Berry, Oregon
    Marvin Bracy, Florida State
    Casimir Loxsom, Penn State
    Jack Whitt, Oral Roberts