Two SEC Women On Bowerman Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Women On Bowerman Watch List

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Two Southeastern Conference track and field athletes – Arkansas’ Makeba Alcide and LSU’s Kimberlyn Duncan, appear on the latest Women’s Watch List for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced on Thursday. Additionally, Georgia’s Morgann Leleux and Texas A&M’s Shelbi Vaughan are “also receiving mention” for The Bowerman.

    The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.

    Alcide appears on the list for the first time this season after recording the fourth-best pentathlon score in collegiate history with a 4,464 at the Razorback Invitational. Her score is the collegiate leader by more than 250 points. With a 6-2¼ (1.89m) clearance in the high jump component of that pentathlon, Alcide ranks third in the nation in the open high jump. She has set career-bests in all but one of the pentathlon components this season. Alcide won the pentathlon at the SEC Championships (4,126) and finished 14th with second-team All-America honors at the NCAA Indoor Championships in the pentathlon (3,915). During the outdoor season she finished 13th in the heptathlon with second-team All-America honors at the NCAA Outdoor Championships (5,520).

    Duncan, the 2012 recipient of The Bowerman, extended her streak of consecutive 200 meters finals victories to 18 with a then-collegiate-leading 23.15 in her lone 200 of the season at the Texas A&M Triangular. She is currently ranked second in the nation and is undefeated in 60 meters finals this season with three wins, including the nation’s fastest time of 7.16 at the Armory Collegiate Invitational. She won the 200 meters at both the indoor and outdoor NCAA Championships in 2011 and 2012, making her the first woman to accomplish that feat. Her outdoor NCAA 200 finals time was 22.19, fourth-best among Americans in 2012.

    Southern Utah’s Cam Levins and Duncan are the reigning winners of The Bowerman, which is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman.

    Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit

    For all of the latest information on SEC track and field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    The Bowerman Official Watch List – Women (Feb. 7, 2013)
    Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
    Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
    Tia Brooks, Oklahoma
    Abbey D’Agostino, Dartmouth
    Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
    English Gardner, Oregon
    Andrea Geubelle, Kansas
    Georganne Moline, Arizona
    Brianna Rollins, Clemson
    Ashley Spencer, Illinois

    Also Receiving Mention
    Dezerea Bryant, Clemson
    Katie Flood, Washington
    Felisha Johnson, Indiana State
    Morgann Leleux, Georgia
    Betsy Saina, Iowa State
    Aurieyall Scott, UCF
    Emily Sisson, Providence
    Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M