SEC Players Named As Senior CLASS Nominees > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Players Named As Senior CLASS Nominees

    OVERLAND PARK, KS (February 20, 2013) – Thirty NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball, including six from the Southeastern Conference. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.
    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
    The 2013 candidate class includes 15 candidates who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Six were named to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-American team, and seven were members of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America team.
    The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City May 30 through June 5.

    For more information on all the finalists, visit

    Softball Candidates (SEC Only)
    Kayla Braud, Alabama
    Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    Kara Dill, Kentucky
    Rachele Fico, LSU
    Kelsey Horton, Florida
    Jenna Marston, Missouri