Florida Men, Georgia Women Claim 2013 SEC Championships > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Florida Men, Georgia Women Claim 2013 SEC Championships

    Saturday Time Trials (PDF)  |  Saturday Final Results (PDF)

    COLLEGE STATION, Texas – The Florida men and the Georgia women each clinched their respective SEC team championship titles at the conclusion of the SEC Men’s and Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships Saturday at the Texas A&M Student Recreation Natatorium.

    The Gator men would win one event in the final day of competition, but crushed the conference field in overall points with a cumulative score of 1,408, 210 points ahead of second-place and defending champion Auburn. Florida’s victory ended a 16-season conference title streak held by Auburn and is the Gators’ first SEC men’s swimming championship since the 1993 season.

    Sophomore Matthew Elliott would win Florida’s lone men’s event with a time of 1:54.13 in the 200-yard breaststroke, beating out Georgia sophomore Nic Fink’s time of 1:54.48.

    The Georgia women held off second-place Texas A&M to win its fourth consecutive SEC championship title. The Lady Bulldogs won two events, broke an SEC meet record and improved its lead against the Aggies throughout the evening to finish with a cumulative total of 1,420 to the Aggies’ total of 1,296.

    Seniors Megan Romano and Allison Schmitt finished first and second, respectively, in the 100-yard freestyle with times of 47.40 and 47.95. Florida freshman Natalie Hinds joined Romano and Schmitt in reaching an NCAA “A” cut times with a finish of 48.03.

    The Georgia women’s 400-yard freestyle relay team ended the SEC Championship meet with an exclamation point, setting an SEC meet record in the finals’ finale event. Romano and Schmitt joined Shannon Vreeland and Chantal van Landeghem to finish with the record time of 3:11.23.

    The second-place Texas A&M women continued to rewrite the conference record books, breaking two more SEC meet records after breaking three SEC meet records Friday.

    Junior Breeja Larson joined Georgia freshman Annie Zhu in breaking the SEC meet record in the 200-yard breaststroke. Larson and Zhu touched the wall with times of 2:05.71 and 2:05.99, respectively, with both times exceeding the previous SEC meet record. Texas A&M sophomore Sarah Henry, who won the 500-yard freestyle Wednesday, shattered the SEC meet record in the 1650-yard freestyle with a finishing time of 15:45.79.

    The defending champion and second-place Auburn men finished strong in the final day of the SEC Championships by winning five of six men’s events.

    Junior Marcelo Chierighini, the SEC men’s Swimmer of the Year, would win the men’s 100-yard freestyle with a time of 41.60. Chierighini joined teammates Arthur Mendes, James Disney-May and Kyle Owens to claim the 400-yard freestyle relay title with a time of 2:50.12.

    Owens and fellow teammate Zane Grothe combined to win two more event titles for the Tigers. Owens, with a final time of 1:39.69, won the men’s 200-yard backstroke as Grothe snatched first in the men’s 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 14:41.45.       

    Junior diver John Santeiu claimed Auburn’s final individual title, accumulating a point total of 426.05 in the men’s platform. Missouri junior David Bonuchi and Texas A&M sophomore Ford McLiney would tie for second with 382.60 points each.

    The third-place Florida women would also tack on an individual title winner as junior Elizabeth Beisel beat out fellow teammate Sinead Russell and Missouri senior Dominique Bouchard with a time of 1:50.40 in the women’s 200-yard backstroke.

    SEC Swimming and Diving Awards

    Commissioner's Trophy (men): David Bonuchi, Missouri (91.5 pts)

    Commissioner's Trophy (women): Elizabeth Beisel, Florida (92 pts)

    Men's Swimming Coach of the Year: Gregg Troy, Florida

    Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Jamie Sweeney, Missouri

    Male Swimmer of the Year: Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn

    Male Diver of the Year: David Bonuchi, Missouri

    Male Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Chase Kalisz, Georgia

    Male Freshman Diver of the Year: Clark Thomas, Missouri

    Female Swimming Coach of the Year: Jack Bauerle, Georgia

    Female Diving Coach of the Year: Dave Parrington, Tennessee

    Female Swimmer of the Year: Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

    Female Diver of the Year: Tori Lamp, Tennessee

    Female Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Natalie Hinds, Florida

    Female Freshman Diver of the Year: Cassie Weil, Florida