Buddy McClinton On College Hall Of Fame Ballot > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Buddy McClinton On College Hall Of Fame Ballot

    March 6, 2013

    AUBURN -- Former Auburn All-American safety Buddy McClinton was one of 77 players and five coaches who comprised the 2013 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation (NFF) announced Tuesday.

    McClinton, who started every game in his Auburn career, was a first-team consensus All-American safety and was named to seven All-America teams as a senior in 1969. The Montgomery, Ala., native earned All-SEC honors three consecutive years from 1967-69 and was named the 1968 Sun Bowl Most Valuable Player.

    "I am truly blessed to be included with such an incredible group of players which includes several Heisman Trophy winners and countless Outland and Butkus Award winners," McClinton said. "Many of these men went on to fabulous pro football careers and are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. I am humbled and honored to be nominated for the College Football Hall of Fame by such a prestigious organization as the National Football Foundation. This is something you don't even dream about as a college player, but, owe so much to my coaches and teammates at Auburn, especially Coach Jordan, who taught us how to me men with character and determination to be the best you could be."

    McClinton is the all-time leader in interceptions at Auburn with 18 and broke the single-season interceptions record in 1969 with nine. Also in 1969, McClinton was named toboth the Academic All-America team and the Academic All-SEC team. He was inducted into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame in 2006.

    "Buddy McClinton is one of the greatest defensive players in Auburn football history, so we are certainly pleased to see him on the ballot for the prestigious College Football Hall of Fame," Auburn Director of Athletics Jay Jacobs said. "This is a well-deserved honor for a great player and an even better man. Buddy's name certainly belongs among the all-time greats in college football."

    The ballot was mailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF's Honors Court, which deliberates and selects the class. Chaired by Gene Corrigan, a former ACC Commissioner and NCAA president, the 14-member NFF Honors Court includes an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletics directors, conference commissioners, Hall of Famers and members of the media.



    "It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 4.92 million people have played college football," said NFF President & CEO Steven J.Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of only 1,500 individuals who are even eligible to be on the ballot, so being in today's group of 77 names means an individual is truly among the greatest to ever have played the game, and we are proud to announce their names today."

    The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City during a noon press conference on May 7 from the NASDAQ OMX Market Site and inducted at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner December 10, 2013 at the landmark Waldorf=Astoria Hotel in New York City.

    To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least ten years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60% of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate's post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

    Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, depending on their school's geographic location, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts. Each year, approximately 15 candidates, who are not selected for the Hall of Fame, will be named automatic holdovers and will bypass the district screening process and automatically appear on the ballot the following year. Additionally, the Veterans Committee may make recommendations to Honors Court for exceptions that allow for the induction of players who played more than 50 years ago.

    Of the 4.92 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on November 6, 1869, only 918 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than .0002 percent of those who have played the game during the past 144 years. From the coaching ranks, 200 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

    Today's ballot, which was mailed to NFF members, also contains the 92 players and 27 coaches for the divisional ranks who are up for Hall of Fame consideration this year. The divisional class will be announced May 16 via a national press release from Dallas, Texas.

    The 2013 Divisional College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted and enshrined simultaneously this summer in Atlanta, Ga., at the NFF Annual Enshrinement Festival. They will be joined during the festival by the 2012 Football Bowl Subdivision Hall of Fame Class, which was inducted this past December in New York City.

    If you would like to become a member and receive a voting sheet for this year's ballot, please contact NFF Director of Membership Ron Dilatush at rdilatush@footballfoundation.com.

    Ballots without valid membership numbers will be invalidated.