Two SEC Athletes On Latest Women's Bowerman Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Athletes On Latest Women's Bowerman Watch List


    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Two Southeastern Conference athletes - LSU's Kimberlyn Duncan and Georgia's Shaunae Miller - are on the latest women's watch list for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field's highest honor, released on Thursday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. Additionally, Arkansas' Makeba Alcide also is receiving mention for The Bowerman.
    The Bowerman, which debuted in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation.
    LSU's Duncan is second all-time with 16 Watch List appearances. She won the NCAA Indoor title at 200 meters in a time of 22.58, the ninth-fastest time in collegiate history, becoming the first sprinter - male or female - to win three consecutive NCAA titles indoors. She has won 20 of her past 21 finals in the 200 against collegians. She reclaimed 2013's fastest collegiate time at 200 meters with her SEC Championship-winning 22.54, placing her fifth on the all-time indoor collegiate performers list and giving her the sixth-fastest time in indoor collegiate history. She also won an SEC indoor title at 60 meters.
    Georgia's Miller won the NCAA Indoor title at 400 meters with a winning time of 50.88, making her the fifth-fastest performer in collegiate history and tying her for the No. 2 spot on the world list for 2013, just .03 off the world lead. She became just the seventh collegiate woman to go sub-51.00 indoors and the only woman to do so this season.
    Bill Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA's predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.
    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit
    For all of the latest information on SEC Track and Field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.
    2013 Women's Bowerman Watch List (March 14, 2013)
    Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
    Tia Brooks, Oklahoma
    Emma Coburn, Colorado
    Abbey D'Agostino, Dartmouth
    Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
    English Gardner, Oregon
    Andrea Geubelle, Kansas
    Shaunae Miller, Georgia
    Brianna Rollins, Clemson
    Aurieyall Scott, UCF
    Also Receiving Mention
    Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
    Georganne Moline, Arizona