Seven SEC Women's Teams Make NCAA Field > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Seven SEC Women's Teams Make NCAA Field

    By: Sean Cartell
    Twitter: @SEC_Sean
    SEC Digital Network

    Complete Tournament Bracket (PDF)

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Seven Southeastern Conference teams have been selected to participate in the 2013 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Tournament, which begins this Saturday. The announcement was made Monday evening through an ESPN broadcast.

    The 2013 campaign marks the 12th time that the SEC has placed seven or more teams in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament field. The SEC, which featured a record-tying eight teams in last year’s event, became in 1986 the first conference to ever place seven teams in the NCAA tournament. The SEC has placed seven or more teams in the NCAA Tournament in 1986, 1991, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2009, 2012 and 2013.

    In total, the SEC has now earned 195 all-time NCAA bids, which leads all conferences.

    Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the championship and the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The full list of match-ups involving SEC teams follows this story.

    Earning No. 1 seeds are Baylor (32-1); Notre Dame (31-1); Connecticut (29-4) and Stanford (31-2). Baylor, Notre Dame and Stanford each won their respective conference regular season and tournament titles in the Big 12, Big East and Pac-12 Conferences, respectively, while Connecticut was an at-large selection from the Big East.

    Tennessee continues its appearance streak, participating now in all 32 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championships. Second on the all-time appearance list is Georgia, making its 30th overall appearance.

    In the history of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, 14 schools have captured the national title. Tennessee leads the way with eight championships followed by Connecticut with seven.

    Spokane Regional

    Spokane, Wash – Saturday, March 23

    #4 Georgia vs. #13 Montana
    Winner plays winner of #5 Iowa State and #12 Gonzaga

    Baton Rouge, La. – Sunday, March 24
    #6 LSU vs. #11 Green Bay
    Winner plays winner of #3 Penn State and #14 Cal Poly

    Bridgeport Regional

    Storrs, Conn. – Saturday, March 23

    #8 Vanderbilt vs. #9 St. Joseph
    Winner plays winner of #1 Connecticut and #16 Idaho

    Queens, N.Y. – Sunday, March 24
    #2 Kentucky vs. #15 Navy
    Winner plays winner of #7 Dayton and #10 St. Johns

    Norfolk Regional

    Boulder, Colo. – Saturday, March 23
    #4 South Carolina vs. #13 South Dakota State
    Winner plays winner of #5 Colorado and #12 Kansas

    College Station, Texas – Saturday, March 23
    #3 Texas A&M vs. #14 Wichita State
    Winner plays winner of #6 Nebraska and #11 Chattanooga

    Oklahoma City Regional

    Knoxville, Tenn. – Saturday, March 23
    #2 Tennessee vs. #15 Oral Roberts
    Winner plays winner of #7 Syracuse and #10 Creighton