Five SEC Athletes Named Arthur Ashe Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Five SEC Athletes Named Arthur Ashe Finalists

    Five Southeastern Conference student-athletes are among the 20 finalists – 10 men and 10 women – for the 2013 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award. The finalists were chosen from more than 500 outstanding minority student-athletes nominated by their respective institutions. The winners will be profiled in the April 11, 2013 edition of Diverse: Issues In Higher Education.

    The SEC student-athletes who were selected as finalists include Laurence Bowers (Missouri), Twany Beckham (Kentucky), Christopher Burnette (Georgia), Kastine Evans (Kentucky) and Joel Kight (Ole Miss).

    To be included, students have to compete in an intercollegiate sport; maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.2; and are active on their campuses or in their communities. This year the NCAA partnered with Diverse to present this standout class of scholar athletes and over  500 male and female students from across the country were nominated.
    Past recipients of the award include: Baylor University’s  (2011) Robert Griffin III, Heisman Trophy winner;  the University of Tennessee’s (2003) Kara Lawson,  ESPN analyst who played for the WNBA’s Sacramento Monarchs; San Diego State University’s (1993) Marshall Faulk, NFL Hall of Famer; and the University of Kansas’ (1996) Jaque Vaughn, assistant coach for the NBA’s San Antonio Spurs.

    Men’s 2013 Finalists
    Andrew Nunez, Baseball, Caldwell
    Laurence Bowers, Men’s Basketball, Missouri
    Ryan Evans, Men’s Basketball, Wisconsin
    Twany Beckham, Men’s Basketball, Kentucky
    Christopher Burnette, Football, Georgia

    Craig (Clay) Belton, Football, Findlay
    Devin Hedgepeth, Football, Oklahoma State
    Gernam Decena, Football, William Paterson
    Joel Kight, Football, Ole Miss
    Javier Balboa, Men’s Gymnastics, Iowa

    Women’s 2013 Finalists
    Jessica Harlee, Women’s Basketball, West Virginia
    Kastine Evans, Women’s Basketball, Kentucky
    Kody Burke, Women’s Basketball, N.C. State
    Monique Weathers, Women’s Basketball, Benedict
    Shayla Bivins, Women’s Basketball, Georgia Tech
    TaKenya Nixon, Women’s Basketball, Eastern Illinois
    Michelle Ikoma, Gymnastics, North Carolina
    Alexandra Couzo, Women’s Soccer, Felician
    Ifeatu Okafor, Track and Field, Texas Tech
    Minami Yamamura, Women's Gymnastics, UC-Davis