2013 SEC Gymnastics Awards Announced > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    2013 SEC Gymnastics Awards Announced

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The 2013 SEC gymnastics awards were released Friday afternoon and LSU’s Rheagan Courville was named SEC Gymnast of the Year. Bridget Sloan of Florida was named SEC Freshman of the Year while Rhonda Faehn (Florida) garnered SEC Coach of the Year honors. Kim Jacob of Alabama was named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive season.

    Courville has led LSU in the all-around this season. She has eight all-around titles this year and ranks nationally in several events, including No. 6 in the all-around, No. 5 on vault, No. 25 on bars, No. 21 on beam and No. 16 on floor. Courville has won 21 individual titles this season and leads LSU with 38 individual titles in her career. She was a two-time SEC Gymnast of the Week selection this season.

    Sloan is a two-time SEC Gymnast of the Week honoree. She received SEC Freshman of the Week honors four times and posted two of the top three all-around scores in the nation this season (39.75 which ranks second and 39.70, which ranks third). Sloan is a current member of the U.S. Senior National Team and is the only World Championship all-around champion to compete as a collegian.

    Jacob is a two-year Scholastic All-American. She earned All-SEC honors last season and has a perfect 4.0 grade point average for her career as one of the nation's top all-arounders. She ranks top-five in the SEC on balance beam and floor and is a four-time All-American.

    A six-time recipient of the SEC Coach of the Year award (2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013), Faehn led Florida to a No. 1 ranking most of the season. The Gators are the top seed at the SEC Championships for the fourth time in program history and her squad posted the nation’s top score in nine seasons with their 198.425-197.175 win over Minnesota in early March. Faehn is in her 11th season as head coach of the Gators.

    The All-SEC First and Second, and All-Freshman Teams will be announced following the conclusion of the SEC Gymnastics Championship on Saturday, March 23. 

    Gymnast of the Year: Rheagan Courville, LSU
    Freshman of the Year: Bridget Sloan, Florida
    Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kim Jacob, Alabama
    Coach of the Year: Rhonda Faehn, Florida