NCAA Announces Women's Gymnastics Regionals > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    NCAA Announces Women's Gymnastics Regionals


    INDIANAPOLIS---The 2013 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced today by the NCAA.
    Six teams, five all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and one individual event specialist per event [who has a minimum Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) of 9.4] were named to each of the six predetermined host sites. 
    The top-18 teams are seeded nationally, based on RQS. Teams 19-36 are organized into three pods (19-24, 25-30 and 31-36) and placed geographically at one of the six sites, beginning with teams 19-24 followed by teams 25-30 and then finally teams 31-36.  All-around competitors and event specialists are assigned to their respective geographic region or the designated site for their region (North Central – Columbus regional; and Northeast – Morgantown regional).
    In the event of a tie for the last berth into regional competition and for seeding purposes, the team, all-around competitor or individual event specialist with the highest score, not including the six used to calculate the regional qualifying score, will qualify. If a tie still exists, the process is continued until the tie is broken.
    The qualifying teams and individuals are listed below. All regionals will be conducted Saturday, April 6, with start times of either 4 or 6 p.m. local time. 
    Columbus Regional (The Ohio State University, host) 
    1.    UCLA
    2.    LSU
    3.    Arizona
    4.    Ohio State
    5.    Central Michigan
    6.    North Carolina State

    Corvallis Regional (Oregon State University, host) 
    1.    Georgia
    2.    Oregon State
    3.    Arkansas
    4.    Boise State
    5.    Arizona State
    6.    California
    Gainesville Regional (University of Florida, host)
    1.    Florida
    2.    Minnesota
    3.    Auburn
    4.   Maryland
    5.   Bridgeport
    6.   Pittsburgh
    Morgantown Regional (West Virginia University, host) 
    1.    Michigan
    2.    Nebraska
    3.    Illinois
    4.    Kentucky
    5.    West Virginia
    6.    North Carolina
    Tuscaloosa Regional (University of Alabama, host) 
    1.    Alabama
    2.    Utah
    3.    Denver
    4.    Kent State
    5.    Brigham Young
    6.    Iowa State