Hladik, Moir Named Davis SEC Leaders Of The Year > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Hladik, Moir Named Davis SEC Leaders Of The Year

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – University of Missouri swimmer Joseph Hladik and University of Kentucky golfer Megan Moir have been named the 2012-13 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Thursday. 
    The two were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities.  Each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC. 
    “Joseph and Megan are outstanding representatives of their families, their institutions, the Southeastern Conference and intercollegiate athletics,” Slive said. “The SEC is proud to honor the efforts of Joseph and Megan to make their communities a better place to live.”
    The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship is named for former Associate Commissioner Brad Davis.  Davis succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006.  He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.
    In addition, the 13 other male and 13 other female recipients for the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award will receive a $5,000 scholarship, provided by the SEC.
    Hladik, a member of the Missouri men’s swimming and diving team, is expected to graduate in May 2013 with a Bachelor of Health Sciences with minors in psychology and art. 
    He has been named to the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll, earned Academic All-Big 12 honors and has been on the Dean’s List during his collegiate career. He also is a member of the Missouri Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. 
    Hladik has donated his time to the MS Society, raising money for research and treatment of Multiple Sclerosis, including completion of a 150-mile bike ride. He also interned at Wellaware Boone Hospital, providing healthcare related resources for hospital patients. 
    He has volunteered at the Boys and Girls Club of Columbia, the Central Missouri Food Bank, the University of Missouri Children’s Hospital and Special Olympics. 
    Hladik was part of Missouri’s record-holding 200 freestyle and 200 medley relay teams, ranks fourth individually at Missouri in the 100 back, was a four-time Big 12 Championships medalist and team captain. He also qualified for the U.S. nationals. 
    A native of Indian Head Park, Ill., Hladik is the son of Joseph and Sharron Hladik. 
    Moir, a member of the Kentucky women’s golf team, graduated summa cum laude with a B.S. degree in accounting and marketing in May 2012. She is currently working towards a master’s degree in sports leadership, which is expected to be completed in May 2013. 
    Moir is a team captain, a two-time Academic All-American and member of both the SEC Academic Honor Roll and the UK Athletics Director’s Honor Roll. A member of the SEC Community Service Team, Moir has been inducted into Kentucky’s prestigious Frank G. Ham Society of Character. 
    She participated in a service trip to Ethiopia with other University of Kentucky student-athletes. Moir organized and planned a program called Dodging Homelessness in Ethiopia. She has been a part of similar projects in the Ramona Gardens Housing Project and the Faith in Christ Community Center in Los Angeles. 
    Moir is president of Kentucky’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and is heavily involved in Athletes in Action. She has performed more than 700 hours of community service in the Lexington, Ky., area during her time as a student-athlete. 
    She is a nominee for the John Wooden Cup and earned the 2012 CATSPY Award for community service. She finished among the top-10 graduates of the University of Kentucky B.S. in accounting program in May 2012. 
    A native of Louisville, Ky., Moir is the daughter of Rick and Donna Moir. 
    The 13 additional male recipients are: Cameron Carlisle, Alabama (baseball); Alfred Davis, Arkansas (football); Kyle Owens, Auburn (swimming); Cameron Martin, Florida (swimming); Reuben Faloughi, Georgia (football); Matt Smith, Kentucky (football); Timothy Dasinger, LSU (swimming); Tanner Bailey, Ole Miss (baseball); Sam Williams, Mississippi State (football); Patrick Sullivan, South Carolina (baseball); Herman Lathers, Tennessee (football); Steven Terrell, Texas A&M (football); and Johnell Thomas, Vanderbilt (football). 
    The 13 additional female recipients are: Tabitha Coleman, Alabama (rowing); Kelci Lewis, Arkansas (gymnastics); Amy Howard, Auburn (soccer); Kelsey Horton, Florida (softball); Noel Couch, Georgia (gymnastics); Natalie Ieyoub, LSU (soccer); Brittany Broome, Ole Miss (softball); Alyssa Hall, Mississippi State (track and field); Allison Heizelman, Missouri (gymnastics); Breanna Radford, South Carolina (track and field); Taber Spani, Tennessee (basketball); Bethany West, Texas A&M (soccer); and Kim Carper Vanderbilt (bowling). 
    The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was first presented in 1996.  Past Leaders of the Year include:  2012 – Cullen Doody, LSU (track and field) and Leigh Gilmore, Alabama (track and field); 2011 – Barnabus Kirui, Ole Miss (track and field) and Bridget Lyons, Georgia (track and field); 2010 – John Egan, Georgia (track and field) and Krissy Voss, Auburn (gymnastics); 2009 – Andrew Smith, Auburn (basketball) and Brionna Dickerson, South Carolina (basketball); 2008 – William Brown, South Carolina (football) and Brooke Shinaberry, Vanderbilt (lacrosse); 2007 – Brad Boswell, Tennessee (swimming) and Stacey Stevens, Florida (softball); 2006 – Antoine Huffman, Kentucky (football) and Hannah McLeod, Arkansas (gymnastics); 2005 – Jordan Fairclotch, LSU (baseball) and Holly Hodges, South Carolina (diving); 2004 – Michael Boynton, South Carolina (basketball) and Virginia Pate, Georgia (swimming & diving); 2003 - Brett Kirouac, Georgia (football) and Kara Lawson, Tennessee (basketball); 2002 - Eric vanGoethem, Auburn (swimming) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Lance Jones, Ole Miss (basebal) and Gabby Fuchs, Florida (gymnastics); 2000 - Brett Millican, Georgia (football) and Brooke Riley, Ole Miss (soccer); 1999 - BJ McKie, South Carolina (basketball) and Carrie Kuhnell, Kentucky (soccer); 1998 - Walker Jones, Ole Miss (football) and Nicole Lees, Alabama (soccer); 1997 - Tim Lanier, LSU (baseball) and Andrea Bullock, Vanderbilt (golf); 1996 - Tony Johnson, Alabama (football) and Erin Tenbrunsel, Alabama (volleyball).