Malzahn Part Of Arkansas High School Hall Of Fame Class > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Malzahn Part Of Arkansas High School Hall Of Fame Class

    April 17, 2013

    North Little Rock, Ark. -- The Arkansas High School Athletic Administrators Association have combined the joint efforts of the Arkansas High School Coaches Association and the Arkansas Officials Association to form one High School Hall of Fame.

    The three organizations have selected 15 honorees to be installed in the 2013 AHSCA-AOA-AHSAAA Hall of Fame, including current Auburn head football coach Gus Malzahn.

    The AHSCA-AOA Hall of Fame was created in 1995 and had selected 213 members into its hall. The AHSAAA started in 2007 and had 19 members. With this year's class the new Hall of Fame membership now stands at 247. The Hall of Fame selections were made by the group's executive committees in December (AOA) and January (AHSCA, AHSAAA).

    The six new AHSCA honorees are Gus Malzahn, Springdale (football); Glenda Patterson, Jonesboro Westside (volleyball); Ron Ripp, Ozark (basketball); Gene Simmons, Murfreesboro (track); Charlie Sorrels, Atkins (football) and Herbert Williams, Brinkley (basketball).

    The six new members of the AOA are Bill Breazeale, Fayetteville (football); Clint Cornett, Prairie Grove (football); Duane Cousins, Benton (football); August Hensick, Stuttgart (football); Gordon Hornaday, Fordyce (basketball) and Ellis "Scooter" Register, Little Rock (basketball).

    The three new members of the AHSAAA are Atwood "Buddy" Bell of Jonesboro, Conrad "Buzz" Bolding of Conway and Richard "Dick" Hays of Ashdown.

    Tim Cooper of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette will receive the Arkansas Activities Association's 2013 Distinguished Media Service Award.

    The installation banquet will be held on Friday, July 12, 2013, at Horner Hall in the Hot Spring Convention Center starting at 6:30 p.m.