Malzahn, Jackson Part Of Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Malzahn, Jackson Part Of Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

    April 18, 2013

    Greensboro, Ga. - A 15-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni are set to compete in the seventh annual Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament. Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn and legend Bo Jackson will be among those hitting the links vying for their share of the $520,000 scholarship purse for their respective universities.

    The nation's premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 28-30 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. In the past six years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided $3.3 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

    During the three-day event, several tournament rounds will be played in addition to the featured, televised round of coaches and celebrities. The complete field of head coaches, professional golfers, former athletes and celebrities includes three NFL Hall of Famers, six Heisman Trophy winners, 10 national Coaches of the Year and 16 Pro Bowlers. The field of competitors for the featured round is scheduled to include four former winning teams including back-to-back defending champions Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech (2011, 2012), Jimbo Fisher and Terrell Buckley of Florida State (2010), two-time winners Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina (2008, 2009), and Frank Beamer and Dell Curry from Virginia Tech (2007).

    The 15 university teams will be vying for the $125,000 first-place prize with all teams receiving a portion of the $520,000 scholarship purse. The field of competitors for the featured event is scheduled to include:

    Auburn: Gus Malzahn; Bo Jackson

    Alabama: Nick Saban; Mark Ingram

    Clemson: Dabo Swinney; Steve Fuller

    Florida State:Jimbo Fisher Terrell Buckley 2010 Winners



    Georgia Tech:Paul Johnson Jon Barry 2011, 2012 Winners

    Miami:Al Golden Gino Torretta

    Mississippi:Hugh Freeze Sean Tuohy

    Mississippi State:Dan Mullen Fred McCrary

    North Carolina:Larry Fedora Roy Williams

    NC State:Dave Doeren Tom Gugliotta

    Ohio State:Urban Meyer Jeff Logan

    South Carolina:Steve Spurrier Sterling Sharpe 2008, 2009 Winners

    Syracuse:Scott Shafer Jim Boeheim

    Virginia Tech:Frank Beamer Dell Curry 2007 Winners

    Wake Forest:Jim Grobe Riley Skinner

    The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge main event features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity or former athlete from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country. In addition to the $520,000 scholarship purse, an additional $135,000 charitable donation will be made to Chick-fil-A's WinShape Homes.

    The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Bowl's overall charitable and scholarship donations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl leads all bowls in the country in charitable giving, including gifts of more than $15.7 million since 2002.

    The tournament is being taped by ESPN for broadcast in the fall. The date of the broadcast will be announced this summer.

    Visit the event site: