Auburn Earns First-Round Lead At SEC Men's Golf Championship > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Auburn Earns First-Round Lead At SEC Men's Golf Championship

    Team Leaderboard | Individual Leaderboard | Photos

    Day Two: Pairings and Tee Times

    ST. SIMONS ISLAND, Ga. – The Auburn Tigers hold the first-round lead in the 2013 SEC Men’s Golf Championship, opening with  an impressive five-under-par 275 in windy conditions on the Sea Island Golf Club’s Seaside Course.  

    “The guys really played great today,” Auburn Head Coach Nick Clinard said.  “It was really windy out there, probably blowing 20 to 25 miles per hour.  We’ve got a lot of work to do the next  36 holes.  This is the best conference in the country with a lot of good coaches and a lot of good teams.  We are looking forward to the next two days and seeing what the weather has in store for us and hopefully we’ll do well.”
    Led by a pair of four-under-par 66’s posted by Michael Hebert and Niclas Carlsson, the Tigers hold a four-stroke lead over  South Carolina which finished the day at 279.  Gamecock sophomore Caleb Sturgeon posted the day’s low round with a five-under-par 65.

    “I hit a good tee shot on 10 and got my day started out right by making  two quick birdies on 10 and 11,” Sturgeon said.  “I told myself to keep staying patient because the wind started to pick up. My putter really worked well today.  I tried to give myself chances and make it  as easy as possible to make par.  It was a really fun day, but it was difficult.  I’m really proud of my team as well.”
    Georgia, winner of five SEC titles on the Seaside Course since 2001, stands in third place after a one-over-par 281.  Alabama, the defending SEC Champion and 2012 NCAA Championship runner-up, fired a three-over par 283 for fourth place.

    Eleven student-athletes shot under par in the opening round, while 18 of the 70 players in the field finished even par or better.

    The overall team standings for the first round include Auburn (275), South Carolina (279), Georgia (281), Alabama (283), Texas A&M (285), Mississippi State (286), LSU (288), Kentucky (291), Missouri (292), Vanderbilt (295), Ole Miss (297), Arkansas (297), Tennessee  (299), and Florida (301).

    The second round begins Saturday morning at 7:30 am ET.  Admission is free and open to the public.