SEC Announces Women's Tennis Awards > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces Women's Tennis Awards

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The 2013 women's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards have been announced by the conference office.

    Florida’s Roland Thornqvist was named SEC Coach of the Year for the fourth time since 2004. The Gators are currently 22-2 overall and ended the conference season with a 12-1 record with a share of the regular season title.  They also won the conference tournament title for the fourth consecutive time.

    Florida’s Lauren Embree was named Player of the Year for the third year while Auburn’s Pleun Burgmans was named Freshman of the Year. Embree went 10-0 in SEC play and 17-0 overall during the dual match season. Burgmans went 15-3, 9-2 in conference play at the No. 1 spot this spring.    

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year was awarded to Alabama’s Antonia Foehse.  She holds a 3.975 GPA in psychology.  She is a two-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll and a two-time ITA Scholar Athlete.

    Ties are not broken which resulted in a 13 member second-team.

    A complete list of the awards follows.
    Coach of the Year:  Roland Thornqvist, Florida
    Player of the Year:  Lauren Embree, Florida
    Freshman of the Year:  Pleun Burgmans Auburn
    Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Antonia Foehse, Alabama

    All-SEC First Team
    Alexa Guarachi, Alabama          
    Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama          
    Yang Pang, Arkansas          
    Pleun Burgmans, Auburn            
    Lauren Embree,  Florida
    Sofie Oyen, Florida
    Lauren Herring, Georgia           
    Maho Kowase, Georgia           
    Kata Szekely, Tennessee       
    Brynn Boren, Tennessee       
    Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M     
    Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M     

    All-SEC Second Team
    Antonia Foehse, Alabama          
    Claudine Paulson, Arkansas          
    Nadia Ravita, Kentucky          
    Alexandra Cercone, Florida
    Olivia Janowicz, Florida
    Brianna Morgan, Florida
    Kate Fuller, Georgia           
    Silvia Garcia, Georgia           
    Caroline Rohde-Moe, Ole Miss          
    Georgiana Patrasc, Mississippi State         
    Jaklin Alawi, South Carolina            
    Katerina Popova, South Carolina            
    Cristina Stancu, Texas A&M     

    All-Freshman Team
    Natalia Maynetto, Alabama
    Yang Pang, Arkansas
    Pleun Burgmans, Auburn
    Brianna Morgan, Florida
    Silvia Garcia, Georgia
    Nadia Ravita, Kentucky