Auburn Senior Michael Hebert and Freshman Jake Mondy Earn All-SEC Honors > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Auburn Senior Michael Hebert and Freshman Jake Mondy Earn All-SEC Honors

    April 30, 2013

    AUBURN -- Auburn senior Michael Hebert was selected to the All-SEC Second Team and redshirt freshman Jake Mondy was named to the All-SEC Freshman Team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

    "I am very proud of Michael and Jake as this is quite an honor in the No. 1 conference in the nation," Auburn head coach Nick Clinard said. "They have been our two hardest workers, and it is wonderful to see them have success."

    Hebert has played in every tournament this season and has led the Tigers in scoring at 72.67. The Orlando, Fla, native has a team-high three top-five finishes after a tie for fifth at the SEC Championship. Hebert has a runner-up finish at The McLaughlin and finished in third at the Mobile Bay Intercollegiate.

    Mondy, who is fourth on the team in scoring at 73.62, won his first collegiate tournament at The McLaughlin, edging out Hebert by two strokes. Mondy has recorded three top-20 finishes this season with a tie for 16th at the Gary Koch Invitational and a tie for 19th at the Jerry Pate Intercollegiate.

    Auburn now has 73 All-SEC selections in history, including 12 under head coach Nick Clinard.

    All-SEC honors were chosen by the league's head coaches, and ties were not broken.

    Coach of the Year
    Jay Seawell, Alabama

    Golfer of the Year
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year
    Austin Cook, Arkansas
    Hunter Kraus, Missouri
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama

    Freshman of the Year

    Taylor Moore, Arkansas
    Matt NeSmith, South Carolina

    First Team All-SEC
    Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
    Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
    Justin Thomas, Alabama
    Cory Whitsett, Alabama
    Jace Long, Missouri
    Tyler McCumber, Florida
    Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
    Oliver Goss, Tennessee
    T.J. Mitchell, Georgia 
    Curtis Thompson, LSU

    Second Team All-SEC
    Andrew Presley, LSU
    Nicholas Reach, Georgia
    Dykes Harbin, South Carolina
    Axel Boasson, Mississippi State
    Trey Millinax, Alabama
    Michael Hebert, Auburn
    T.J. Vogel, Florida
    Andrew Evans, Texas A&M



    Freshman All-SEC
    Taylor Moore, Arkansas
    Matt NeSmith, South Carolina
    Oliver Goss, Tennessee
    Lee McCoy, Georgia
    Jake Mondy, Auburn