SEC Announces 2013 Softball Awards > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Announces 2013 Softball Awards

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its annual softball awards to cap the 2013 season and kick off the SEC Softball Tournament in Lexington, Ky., May 8-11.  The All-SEC Teams consist of 24 total student-athletes, along with a 12-member All-Freshman team and a nine-member All-Defensive Team. No ties were broken.  The University of Tennessee’s Lauren Gibson was named Player of the Year while the University of Missouri’s Chelsea Thomas earned Pitcher of the Year honors. University of Florida’s Tim Walton was selected as Coach of the Year while Freshman of the Year honors went to LSU’s Bianka Bell and University of Georgia’s Geri Ann Glasco. Jenna Marston (Missouri) was voted Scholar-Athlete of the Year.  The awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches.

    Gibson becomes the third Tennessee player to earn Player of the Year honors and the first since Tonya Callahan received the honor in 2008. She had 12 home runs in conference play, tops in the league, and led the SEC in batting average (.448), slugging percentage (1.060), runs scored (26) and runs batted in (36). Gibson is a Top 25 finalist for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award, ranks top-10 in the nation in RBI’s, slugging percentage and runs per game and was named the Louisville Slugger/NFCA National Player of the Week on April 23 after setting a school record and tying an SEC record with three home runs in a game vs. Ole Miss.

    Thomas led Missouri in the circle with a 13-4 mark and 1.70 earned run average in league play, putting her first and second in the league in those categories, respectively. She started a league-high 19 conference games, held opponents to a .176 batting average in league play and ranks 11th in the NCAA in ERA. The senior was named a Top 25 finalist for the 2013 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year award earlier this season.

    Walton received Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Gators to their fourth league title in school history, the third under Walton, and sixth SEC Eastern Division banner. Florida posted an 18-6 SEC record and a 49-7 overall mark this season and ranks second in the nation in RPI. This is the fourth Coach of the Year honor for Walton. He previously earned the honor in 2008, 2009 and 2011.  

    Bell paced LSU with a team-leading 12 home runs and 47 RBI’s. The 12 homers are tied for third-most in program history for a single season, while the 47 RBI’s are the third-most by a freshman. She was a a two-time SEC Freshman of the Week honoree, batted .356 with five HRs and 18 RBI’s in SEC play and has been involved in 34 percent of LSU’s runs scored in SEC play. Glasco had 11 home runs and slugged .776 in conference play and tied an SEC record with three home runs in a game on April 15 vs. South Carolina. She became the first Georgia player to earn National Player of the Week honors twice in the same season after taking the NFCA and USA Softball weekly honors on March 26 and April 16, respectively.  

    Marston has a 3.99 cumulative GPA as an Industrial Engineering major at Mizzou. She earned Capital One First Team Academic All‐American recognition as a junior last season and received Capital One Academic All-District honors three times in her career. Marston was a First Team Academic All-Big 12 honoree in 2011 and 2012. She batted .371 and had a team-high 18 runs and 26 hits in league play.

    2013 SEC Softball Awards

    Player of the Year
    Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

    Pitcher of the Year
    Chelsea Thomas, Missouri

    Coach of the Year
    Tim Walton, Florida

    Freshman of the Year
    Bianka Bell, LSU; Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia

    Scholar-Athlete of the Year
    Jenna Marston, Missouri

    First Team All-SEC
    P - Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
    P - Hannah Rogers, Florida
    IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
    IF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
    IF - Paige Wilson, Georgia
    OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
    OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee
    OF - Kaylee Puailoa, Georgia
    OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU
    C - Jenna Marston, Missouri
    DP/U - Lauren Haeger, Florida

    Second Team All-SEC
    P - Rachele Fico, LSU
    P - Kimmy Beasley, Arkansas
    IF - Samie Garcia, South Carolina
    IF - Kelsey Stewart, Florida
    IF - Bianka Bell, LSU
    IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama
    OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
    OF - Kelsey Horton, Florida
    OF - Branndi Melero, Auburn
    OF - Jacee Blades, LSU
    C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
    DP/U - Mel Dumezich, Texas A&M

    Freshman All-SEC
    P - Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky
    P - Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia
    IF - Kelsey Stewart, Florida
    IF - Bianka Bell, LSU
    IF - Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia
    IF - Emily Carosone, Auburn
    OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
    OF - Kaylee Puailoa, Georgia
    OF - Kirsti Merritt, Florida
    OF - Andrea Hawkins, Alabama; Tiffany Howard, Auburn
    C - Kellsi Kloss, LSU
    DP/U - Cali Lanphear, Texas A&M

    SEC All-Defensive
    P - Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
    C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky
    1B - Morgan Estell, Auburn
    2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
    SS - Madison Shipman, Tennessee
    3B - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    LF - Kayla Braud, Alabama
    CF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
    RF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee