15 SEC Athletes Garner NFCA All‐America Honors > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    15 SEC Athletes Garner NFCA All‐America Honors

    15 Southeastern Conference softball athletes were named to the 2013 Louisville Slugger/NFCA All‐America teams, the NFCA announced on Wednesday. The SEC had eight First Team members, three Second Team members and four Third Team members.

    The four conferences that will participate at this year’s Women’s College World Series were well represented as an impressive 38 of the 54 total nods, including all 18 student-athletes on the first team, were garnered from either the Southeastern Conference (15), the Pacific-12 Conference (10), the Big 12 Conference (eight) or the Big Ten Conference (five).

    In addition, all eight programs that will be competing from May 30-June 5 for the 2013 NCAA Division I National Championship, Tennessee, Florida, Nebraska, Michigan, Washington, Arizona State, Oklahoma and Texas, each received at least one inclusion on the prestigious squads. Oklahoma, Oregon and Alabama led the country with four total selections each, while Tennessee joined the Ducks in leading the nation with three student-athletes tabbed to the NFCA All-American First Team.

    2013 NFCA Division I All-American Teams (SEC Selections Only)

    First Team
    Hannah Rogers, Florida
    Lauren Gibson, Tennessee
    Raven Chavanne, Tennessee
    Madison Shipman, Tennessee
    Kayla Braud, Alabama
    Chelsea Thomas, Missouri
    Lauren Haeger, Florida
    Rachele Fico, LSU         

    Second Team
    Haylie McCleney, Alabama
    Cali Lanphear, Texas A&M
    Kaila Hunt, Alabama

    Third Team
    Geri Ann Glasco, Georgia
    A.J. Andrews, LSU
    Jackie Traina, Alabama
    Mel Dumezich, Texas A&M