Three From SEC Named Bowerman Semifinalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Three From SEC Named Bowerman Semifinalists

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Three Southeastern Conference student-athletes are among the 10 men’s semifinalists for The Bowerman, collegiate track and field’s highest honor. Texas A&M’s Wayne Davis II and Sam Humphreys, and Ole Miss’ Sam Kendricks are the SEC athletes who were named semifinalists on Monday in a release from the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association in New Orleans.

    The 10 semifinalists are eligible for consideration to be selected as a finalist to attend the annual award ceremony at the USTFCCCA Convention in December. The three finalists will be announced July 10. Voting for the final winner – including an online fan vote – will take place from late July to mid-August. The USTFCCCA will announce the women’s semifinalists on Tuesday.

    The Bowerman is named for legendary Oregon track & field and cross country coach Bill Bowerman. Bowerman served the sport of track and field in numerous ways. His leadership in the USTFCCCA’s predecessor organization, the National Collegiate Track Coaches Association, and his contributions to NCAA track and field and the running community as a whole are among his many lasting legacies.

    For more information on The Bowerman, the award, the trophy and Bill Bowerman himself, visit

    For all of the latest information on SEC Track and Field, please log on to or follow @SEC_Sean on Twitter.

    2013 Men’s Semifinalists – The Bowerman
    •    Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
    •    Derek Drouin, Indiana
    •    Johannes Hock, Texas
    •    Sam Humphreys, Texas A&M
    •    Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss

    •    Erik Kynard, Kansas State
    •    Lawi Lalang, Arizona
    •    Bryshon Nellum, Southern Cal
    •    Charles Silmon, TCU
    •    Julian Wruck, UCLA