Nation-Leading Nine SEC Players On Hornung Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Nation-Leading Nine SEC Players On Hornung Watch List

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. – A nation-leading nine Southeastern Conference football players are among the 44 student-athletes named to the 2013 Watch List for the Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, it was announced Friday.

    The Paul Hornung Award, now in its fourth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.
    The 2013 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2012 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2013 season. Profiles of each player and information about the Award can be found at

    The Watch List is comprised of 19 seniors, 21 juniors and four sophomores, representing 41 universities and 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The SEC is the leading conference with nine players followed by the ACC with six players. There are five players from both the Big Ten and Big 12.
    In 2012, players on this year's Paul Hornung Award Watch List accounted for 17,035 rushing yards, 17,112 receiving yards, 17,148 kickoff return yards, 4,874 punt return yards and 350 total tackles. Reminiscent of Hornung during his playing days, members of the Watch List demonstrated a knack for scoring, posting 408 total touchdowns in five different scoring capacities a year ago.
    “The Paul Hornung Award Watch List for the upcoming season is an impressive group of players who excel at multiple positions to help their teams win, which is how I played the game,” Hornung said. “It will be interesting to see which players excel during the season and emerge as the top choices of our selection committee.”

    2013 Watch List Selections
    Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin
    Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
    Antonio Andrews, WKU
    Dri Archer, Kent State
    D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech
    Odell Beckham Jr., LSU
    Corey Brown, Ohio State
    Isaiah Burse, Fresno State
    Trey Burton, Florida
    Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest
    Brandon Carter, TCU
    Chris Coyer, Temple
    Quandre Diggs, Texas
    Stefon Diggs, Maryland
    Bruce Ellington, South Carolina
    Tyler Ervin, San Jose State
    Cody Fajardo, Nevada
    JD Falslev, BYU
    D.J. Foster, Arizona State
    Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green
    Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
    Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech
    Scott Harding, Hawaii
    Akeem Hunt, Purdue
    Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech
    Duke Johnson, Miami (FLA)
    Christion Jones, Alabama
    Marqise Lee, Southern California
    Tommylee Lewis, Northern Illinois
    Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
    Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
    Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
    Venric Mark, Northwestern
    Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia
    Marcus Murphy, Missouri
    LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
    Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
    Bernard Reedy, Toledo
    Jamill Smith, Ball State
    Damien Thigpen, UCLA
    De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon
    Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State
    Sammy Watkins, Clemson
    Trey Watts, Tulsa

    The winner will be honored at the official Paul Hornung Award Banquet sponsored by KentuckyOne Health, held at the Galt House in downtown Louisville in late January 2014.
    Players from all FBS teams are eligible and appearing on the Paul Hornung Award Watch List is not a prerequisite for winning the Award. The Selection Committee is comprised of 16 national sports journalists and former college and NFL players who vote for finalists then a winner. Their votes are tabulated by public accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford.