Sixteen From SEC Named To Bednarik Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Sixteen From SEC Named To Bednarik Award Watch List

    Sixteen Southeastern Conference student-athletes were named to the watch list for the 19th-annual Bednarik Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday.

    The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.

    Semifinalists for the Bednarik Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25th. The winner of the 2013 Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12th. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to the list as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the award.

    Bednarik Award (July 8)
    DE Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech
    DE Deion Barnes, Penn State
    DT Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State
    S C.J. Barnett, Ohio State
    LB Anthony Barr, UCLA
    LB Lamin Barrow, LSU
    DE Vic Beasley, Clemson
    CB Deion Belue, Alabama
    CB Bene Benwikere, San Jose State
    LB Greg Blair, Cincinnati
    LB Chris Borland, Wisconsin
    DE Carl Bradford, Arizona State
    DE Morgan Breslin, USC
    LB Jonathan Brown, Illinois
    LB Max Bullough, Michigan State
    DT Ryan Carrethers, Arkansas State
    S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
    DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
    CB Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma
    DE Scott Crichton, Oregon State
    CB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
    DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
    DT Dominique Easley, Florida
    CB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon
    LB Jake Fely, San Diego State
    DE Devonte Fields, TCU
    LB Jake Fischer, Arizona
    DE Dee Ford, Auburn
    CB E.J. Gaines, Missouri
    DE Ben Gardner, Stanford
    DE James Gayle, Virginia Tech
    DT Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota
    LB Bryce Hager, Baylor
    CB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt
    CB Bennett Jackson, Notre Dame
    LB Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
    DE Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
    DT Timmy Jernigan, Florida State
    DT Anthony Johnson, LSU
    LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
    LB Christian Jones, Florida State
    S Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
    LB Eric Kendricks, UCLA
    LB DeDe Lattimore, USF
    S Craig Loston, LSU
    LB Khalil Mack, Buffalo
    DE Kareem Martin, North Carolina
    DT Daniel McCullers, Tennessee
    LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

    LB Jamal Merrell, Rutgers
    LB James Morris, Iowa
    LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
    LB Trent Murphy, Stanford
    DT Louis Nix III, Notre Dame
    DT Roosevelt Nix, Kent State
    S Calvin Pryor, Louisville
    CB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida
    DT Travis Raciti, San Jose State
    CB Bradley Roby, Ohio State
    LB Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
    LB Prince Shembo, Notre Dame
    LB Shayne Skov, Stanford
    LB Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut
    S Derron Smith, Fresno State
    DE Chris Smith, Arkansas
    S Hakeem Smith, Louisville
    DT Will Sutton, Arizona State
    CB Jemea Thomas, Georgia Tech
    DE Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
    DE Chidera Uzo-Diribe, Colorado
    LB Kyle Van Noy, BYU
    CB Jason Verrett, TCU
    DT Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest
    DT Leonard Williams, USC
    S Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State