SEC Places 16 Players On Maxwell Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Places 16 Players On Maxwell Award Watch List

    Sixteen Southeastern Conference football players have been named to the preseason watch list for the 77th-annual Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday.

    The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell’s contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

    The watch list once again incorporates a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast. Returning Maxwell Award semifinalists from 2012 include Clemson QB Tajh Boyd, USC WR Marqise Lee, Texas A&M QB Johnny Manziel, Alabama QB AJ McCarron, Ohio State QB Braxton Miller and Oregon RB De’Anthony Thomas. The list also showcases six defensive players, and for the first time in Award history three offensive linemen, Michigan OT Taylor Lewan, Texas A&M OT Jake Matthews and Stanford OG David Yankey. Defending National Champion Alabama is the most represented program, with RB T.J. Yeldon, WR Amari Cooper and LB C.J. Mosley joining McCarron.

    Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 25th. The winner of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12th. The formal presentation of the awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

    The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

    Maxwell Award (July 8)
    RB Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska
    RB Antonio Andrews, Western Kentucky
    RB Dri Archer, Kent State
    QB David Ash, Texas
    LB Anthony Barr, UCLA
    QB Blake Bell, Oklahoma
    RB Beau Blankenship, Ohio
    QB Blake Bortles, UCF
    QB Tajh Boyd, Clemson
    QB Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
    QB Kolton Browning, ULM
    RB Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona
    QB Derek Carr, Fresno State
    RB Kasey Carrier, New Mexico
    QB Rakeem Cato, Marshall
    DE Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
    WR Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
    WR Amari Cooper, Alabama
    WR Stefon Diggs, Maryland
    RB Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech
    QB Jeff Driskel, Florida
    WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M

    QB Cody Fajardo, Nevada
    QB David Fales, San Jose State
    RB David Fluellen, Toledo
    QB Devin Gardner, Michigan
    RB Marion Grice, Arizona State
    RB Todd Gurley, Georgia
    QB Kevin Hogan, Stanford
    RB John Hubert, Kansas State
    RB Brett Hundley, UCLA
    RB Carlos Hyde, Ohio State
    RB Duke Johnson, Miami
    QB Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
    QB Taylor Kelly, Arizona State
    WR Marqise Lee, USC
    OT Taylor Lewan, Michigan
    QB Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
    QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
    QB Marcus Mariota, Oregon
    RB Venric Mark, Northwestern
    QB Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
    WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
    OT Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

    QB AJ McCarron, Alabama
    QB Zach Mettenberger, LSU

    QB Braxton Miller, Ohio State
    QB Stephen Morris, Miami
    LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
    RB Adam Muema, San Diego State
    QB Aaron Murray, Georgia
    DT Louis Nix III, Notre Dame
    RB Branden Oliver, Buffalo
    QB Casey Pachall, TCU
    RB LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State
    QB Keith Price, Washington
    RB Silas Redd, USC
    QB Bryn Renner, North Carolina
    QB Tyler Russell, Mississippi State
    RB Bishop Sankey, Washington
    RB Lache Seastrunk, Baylor
    RB Charles Sims, West Virginia
    RB Jerome Smith, Syracuse
    DT Will Sutton, Arizona State
    RB De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon
    QB Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech
    RB Zurlon Tipton, Central Michigan
    DE Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
    QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss
    WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson
    RB Trey Watts, Tulsa
    QB Keith Wenning, Ball State
    RB James White, Wisconsin
    OG David Yankey, Stanford
    RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama
    RB Zach Zwinak, Penn State