Pair From SEC On Lou Groza Award Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Pair From SEC On Lou Groza Award Watch List

    A pair of Southeastern Conference football players – Auburn’s Cody Parkey and Vanderbilt’s Carey Spear – are among the 30 players nationally that have been named to the Watch List for the 2013 Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission, it was announced Wednesday.

    Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2012 season and 2013 expectations. The Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season, and releasing a weekly “Stars of the Week” feature on

    Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 4th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former winners selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 25th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 12th during the Home Depot College Football Awards, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.

    The 22nd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 10th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

    The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.
    For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the “Stars of the Week” throughout the season, please go to For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.

    2013 Lou Groza Award Watch List
    Chris Boswell – Rice
    Kyle Brindza – Notre Dame
    Jeff Budzien – Northwestern
    Chandler Catanzaro – Clemson
    Brian Davis – Arkansas State
    Jeremiah Detmer – Toledo
    Nick Diaz – Utah State
    Mitch Ewald – Indiana
    Nate Freese – Boston College
    Andrew Furney – Washington State
    Brendan Gibbons – Michigan
    Warren Harvey – East Carolina
    Michael Hunnicutt – Oklahoma
    Cody Journell – Virginia Tech
    Ty Long – UAB
    Austin Lopez – San Jose State
    Ross Martin – Duke
    Mike Meyer – Iowa
    Tony Miliano – Cincinnati
    Dylan Mulder – Eastern Michigan
    Jaden Oberkrom – TCU
    Cody Parkey – Auburn
    Kaleb Patterson – Miami (OH)
    Jared Roberts – Colorado State
    Trevor Romaine – Oregon State
    Cairo Santos – Tulane
    Will Scott – Troy
    Mathew Sims – Northern Illinois
    Carey Spear – Vanderbilt
    John Wallace – Louisville