Nine SEC Linebackers Land On Butkus Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Nine SEC Linebackers Land On Butkus Watch List

    CHICAGO – (July 15, 2013) – The 29th annual Butkus Award® selection process to honor the nation’s best linebackers begins today with announcement of the collegiate pre-season watch list.
    The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus’ I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and related drugs.  More information is available at or at
    The Butkus Award, or, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 21 most prestigious awards in college football with 678 years of selection excellence. Visit for more information.
    The watch list contains 51 candidates, honoring the now-retired professional jersey number of Dick Butkus, who is regarded by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.  The selection panel is comprised of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists.  Players who do not appear on the watch list may be considered for the Award.
    The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates from 37 universities.  C.J. Mosley of Alabama is the only returning finalist, along with returning semi-finalists Jonathan Brown of Illinois, Max Bullough of Michigan State and Trent Murphy of Stanford.
    Jerry Attaochu, Georgia Tech
    Anthony Barr, UCLA
    Lamin Barrow, LSU
    Dorian Bell, Duquesne
    Greg Blair, Cincinnati
    Chris Borland, Wisconsin
    Carl Bradford, Arizona State
    Preston Brown, Louisville
    Jonathan Brown, Illinois
    Max Bullough, Michigan State
    Carlo Calabrese, Notre Dame
    Glenn Carson, Penn State
    Steele Divitto, Boston College
    Dan Fox, Notre Dame
    Jeremiah George, Iowa State
    Spencer Hadley, BYU
    Bryce Hager, Baylor
    Anthony Hitchens, Iowa
    Adrian Hubbard, Alabama
    Cqulin Hubert, Southeastern Louisiana
    Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky
    Jordan Jenkins, Georgia
    Derrell Johnson, East Carolina
    A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
    Christian Jones, Florida State
    Eric Kendricks, UCLA
    Christian Kirksey, Iowa
    Dede Lattimore, South Florida
    Boseko Lokombo, Oregon
    Khalil Mack, Buffalo
    Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State
    Jamal Merrell, Rutgers
    James Morris, Iowa
    C.J. Mosley, Alabama
    Trent Murphy, Stanford
    Hayes Pullard, USC
    Trevor Reilly, Utah
    D.T. Shackelford, Mississippi
    Ryan Shazier, Ohio State
    Prince Shembo, Notre Dame
    Deontae Skinner, Mississippi State
    Shane Skov, Stanford
    Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut
    Telvin Smith, Florida State
    Uani Unga, BYU
    Kyle Van Noy, BYU
    Brandon Watts, Georgia Tech
    Derrick Webb, Colorado
    Avery Williamson, Kentucky
    Chris Young, Arizona State
    Jordan Zumwalt, UCLA