SEC Leads Nation With Seven On O'Brien Watch List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Leads Nation With Seven On O'Brien Watch List

    FORT WORTH, Texas – The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.
    This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.
    The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).
    Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.
    The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.
    2013 Davey O’Brien Watch List
    David Ash, Texas, Big 12
    Blake, Bortles, UCF, AAC
    Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC
    Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC
    Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sun Belt
    Kolton Browning, ULM, Sun Belt
    Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC
    Rakeem Cato, Marshall, C-USA
    Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC
    David Fales, San Jose State, MWC
    James Franklin, Missouri, SEC
    Devin Gardner, Michigan, Big Ten
    Kevin Hogan, Stanford, Pac-12
    Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12
    Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, MWC
    Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, Pac-12
    Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC
    Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC
    Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12
    Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten
    AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC
    Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten
    Stephen Morris, Miami (FL), ACC
    Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC
    Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12
    Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12
    Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC
    Keenan Reynolds, Navy, Independent
    Tyler Russell, Mississippi State, SEC
    Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC
    Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC
    Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC
    Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, SEC
    Keith Wenning, Ball State, MAC
    By conference: SEC (7), Pac-12 (5), ACC (4), Mountain West (4), Big Ten (3), Mid-American (3), American Athletic (2), Big 12 (2), Sun Belt (2), Independents (1), Conference USA (1).