Florida Picked To Win 2013 SEC Volleyball Title > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Florida Picked To Win 2013 SEC Volleyball Title

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference’s 13 coaches have selected the Florida Gators to win the 2013 SEC volleyball title in a preseason vote announced Thursday. Coming off a 19-1 SEC season and 27-5 overall mark, Florida received 12 of 13 first-place votes for this year’s prediction. The Kentucky Wildcats received a first-place vote after finishing 22-11 overall and 14-6 in SEC play last year.  
    The Gators (12 points) were also picked to win the Eastern Division. The Wildcats were picked second in the division with 25 points while Missouri was third with 35.  Georgia was picked fourth with 44 points while Tennessee (56 points) and South Carolina (65 points) were chosen to finish fifth and sixth in the division, respectively.     
    LSU and Texas A&M shared Western Division honors as both teams were predicted to win the division with 21 points each. The Tigers garnered five first-place votes and were picked to win the West for the sixth consecutive season. A&M won the division in 2012, its inaugural year in the league, after posting a 16-4 mark in SEC play. The Aggies tallied six first-place votes in Western Division voting.
    Arkansas was selected third in the West (36 points) and Auburn was picked fourth (45 points).  The Alabama Crimson Tide (56 points) was chosen finish fifth while the Ole Miss Rebels (58 points) were picked sixth. Mississippi State, predicted seventh with 78 points, rounds out the Western Division votes.                 
    Points were compiled on a 1-2-3-4-5-6 basis for the Eastern Division and 1-2-3-4-5-6-7 for the Western Division. Each coach is not allowed to vote for his or her own team and each coach also voted for one team as an overall conference champion.
    The 2013 Preseason All-SEC team will be announced on Friday, Aug. 9 while the 2013 season kicks off on Friday, Aug. 30. Conference play begins Sept. 27.  
                                                                                 Preseason Coaches Poll
                                                                         (First-Place Votes in Parentheses)
                                                                    SEC Champion: Florida (12), Kentucky (1)
    Eastern Division                                                               Western Division
    Team                                     Points                                   Team                                     Points
    1. Florida (12)                        12                                        1. LSU                                     21 
    2. Kentucky (1)                       25                                        1. Texas A&M                         21
    3. Missouri                             35                                         3. Arkansas                           36
    4. Georgia                              44                                         4. Auburn                               45
    5. Tennessee                        56                                         5. Alabama                            56
    6. South Carolina                 65                                          6. Ole Miss                            58                           
    ----                                                                                          7. Mississippi State             78