Tymrak Named National Women's Soccer League R.O.Y. > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Tymrak Named National Women's Soccer League R.O.Y.

    GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- Gator Great Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.) is the National Women’s Soccer League Rookie of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.
    Tymrak, who finished her Florida collegiate career in November of 2012, made an immediate impact in the newly formed NWSL. She was a second-round pick by FC Kansas City in January’s draft. With FC Kansas City, Tymrak started 16 matches and turned in six goals and four assists.
    Tymrak twice was recipient of in-season NWSL honors. She scored three goals and added an assist in six matches to help the Blues to a 3-0-3 record during July on her way to being named the NWSL Player of the Month. She was also voted NWSL Player of the Week for Week 15 (ending July 21) after registering a goal and an assist in a 2-0 victory over Seattle Reign FC on July 20.
    As a Gator, Tymrak was a two-time All-American and picked up the 2012 Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Year. In 2012, Tymrak was Florida’s leader in goals (9), assists (12) and points (30). She finished third on Gators’ career charts in assists (40), sixth in points (104), tied for seventh in game-winning goals (11) and eighth for goals (32).
    She is the second Gator to pick up women’s professional soccer rookie of the year honors. Gator Great Abby Wambach was the Women’s Professional Soccer Association (WUSA) recipient in 2002. Tymrak and Wambach are among eight Gators in the NWSL – Jazmyne Avant and Jo Dragotta (Boston Breakers), Melanie Booth (Sky Blue), Holly King (Washington Spirit), Adriana Leon (Chicago Red Stars) and Kathryn Williamson (Portland Thorns FC). Florida’s eight NWSL representatives ties for the second-highest total from a single university.
    FC Kansas City will face Portland Thorns FC in the semifinals of the 2013 NWSL Playoffs live on FOX Sports 2 on Saturday, Aug. 24 at 2 p.m. ET at Verizon Wireless Field in Overland Park, Kan.
    Gators Named Professional Sports Rookie of the Year
    Erika Tymrak
    National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL)
    Percy Harvin
    AP & Pro Football Writers Association
    Abby Wambach
    Women’s United Soccer Association (WUSA)
    Brad Wilkerson
    The Sporting News - National League
    Mike Miller
    National Basketball Association (NBA)
    Lisa Hackney
    Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA)
    Jevon Kearse
    AP & Pro Football Writers Association
    Emmitt Smith
    AP & Pro Football Writers Association