Two From SEC Named To Hornung Honor Roll > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two From SEC Named To Hornung Honor Roll

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. (Tuesday, September 3, 2013) - Three players, who led their teams in all-purpose yards and provided spectacular big plays, have been named to the Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll for the opening week of the 2013 season. The weekly recognition honors versatile, single-game performances around the nation by FBS student-athletes.
    The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner and his family will be honored in late January 2014 at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville.
    Week One Honorees:
    LSU wide receiver Odell Beckham Jr. led the Bayou Bengals to a 37-27 win over TCU with 272 all-purpose yards. He carried the ball twice for 18 yards, caught five passes for 118 yards, and returned four kickoffs for 136 yards. Beckham averaged an astounding 34.0 yards per kickoff return. Beckham's efforts helped LSU win its 11th straight season-opening game.
    TCU tailback B.J. Catalon had 233 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns, including a 100-yard kickoff return, in a loss to LSU at AT&T Stadium in Dallas. Catalon had eight carries for 52 yards and one touchdown, three receptions for 22 yards, and four kickoff returns for 159 yards and one touchdown. His 100 yard-kickoff return for a TD was TCU's first kickoff return for a TD since 2011 and tied for second-longest in TCU history, behind only a 105-yard effort by Charles Casper against Texas in 1933.
    Alabama wide receiver Christion Jones electrified the nation in a 35-10 win over Virginia Tech in the Georgia Dome by scoring three touchdowns and accounting for 256 all-purpose yards. Jones had two receptions for 47 yards and a touchdown, returned four punts for 100 yards and a touchdown, and returned two kickoffs for 109 yards and a touchdown. Jones became the first major college football player to score a touchdown on a punt return, kickoff return, and pass reception in the same game since Kentucky's Derek Abney in 2002. Also, Jones became the first Alabama player in history to score two special team touchdowns in one game.

    Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse

    Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Hornung is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, "The most versatile man ever to play the game." A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote.  All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health in late January in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.