Seven From SEC On Senior CLASS Award List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Seven From SEC On Senior CLASS Award List

    OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 4, 2013) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.
    An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 
    Of the 30 candidates, 12 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher. Seven are all-Americans and 12 were all-conference selections in 2012. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January. 
    The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

    For more information on all the candidates, visit
    Football Candidates (SEC Players in Bold):
    Lamin Barrow, LSU
    Chris Borland, Wisconsin
    Derek Carr, Fresno State
    Steven Clark, Auburn
    Ross Cockrell, Duke
    Vincenzo D’Amato, California
    Alden Darby, Arizona State
    Jake Fischer, Arizona
    Andrew Furney, Washington State
    Dave Harding, Duke
    Greg Heban, Indiana
    Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
    Will Jackson, Georgia Tech
    Jacob Karam, Memphis
    Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
    Taylor Martinez, Nebraska
    Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
    AJ McCarron, Alabama
    Jack Mewhort, Ohio State
    Alex Page, South Alabama
    Cairo Santos, Tulane
    Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois
    Eric Soza, Texas-San Antonio
    Carey Spear, Vanderbilt
    Will Sutton, Arizona State
    Travis Swanson, Arkansas
    John Urschel, Penn State
    Kyle Van Noy, BYU
    Avery Williamson, Kentucky
    Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State