Beckham Again Named To Hornung Honor Roll > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Beckham Again Named To Hornung Honor Roll

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Three offensive standouts, combining for more than 800 all-purpose yards, and a defensive end that scored two touchdowns, highlight this week's Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll selections.
    The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner and his family will be honored in late January 2014 at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville.
    Week Two Honorees:
    LSU's Odell Beckham Jr. lands on the Honor Roll for the second consecutive week with an astounding 331 all-purpose yards and four touchdowns in a 56-17 win over UAB. He carried the ball one time for 15 yards, caught five passes for 136 yards and three touchdowns, returned three punts and a kickoff for a combined 80 yards, and returned a missed field goal 100 yards for a touchdown. His 331 all-purpose yards is the third-highest total in school history for a single game and tied for eighth in SEC history. Beckham became the first player in LSU history to return a missed field goal for a TD as he returned a 59-yard UAB attempt 109 yards (statistically 100 yards) for a touchdown in the third quarter.
    Michigan State's defensive end Shilique Calhoun had an unprecedented game for a defensive player in a 21-6 win over South Florida. Calhoun recovered a fumble and returned it four yards for a touchdown and later intercepted a pass and took it 56 yards for his second touchdown. In addition, he had two tackles for a loss of 12 yards and a sack for a loss of nine yards. In two games, he now has scored three defensive touchdowns, which includes returning a fumble 16 yards in a win over Western Michigan on August 30. Calhoun becomes the first Spartan defensive player to score three TDs in one season since linebacker T.J. Turner accounted for three in 12 games in 1999.
    Kansas State's Tramaine Thompson had a big game in the Wildcats' 48-27 win over Louisiana. The senior returned the second-half kickoff 94 yards for a touchdown, giving K-State at least one kick return for a touchdown in each of the last nine seasons, a streak that currently leads the nation. Thompson then added a 79-yard punt return, which set up another Wildcat touchdown. With the kickoff-return score, Thompson became the fifth player in school history to have receiving, punt return and kickoff return touchdowns during their careers. He finished the game with 234 all-purpose yards.
    In a 30-27 victory over Colorado State, Tulsa's Trey Watts totaled 247 all-purpose yards, including a team-leading 152 yards rushing on 22 carries. His 45-yard run with under 30 seconds remaining set up the winning 34-yard field goal with 0:00 on the game clock. Watts added a team-high eight receptions for 58 yards, returned five punts for 22 yards and had one kickoff return for 15 yards. He touched the ball a total of 36 times for the Golden Hurricane. He moved into seventh place on the school's career rushing chart with 2,346 career-rushing yards.
    Past Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll Selections
    Week One: Odell Beckham Jr. (LSU), B.J. Catalon (TCU), Christion Jones (Alabama).

    Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
    Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Hornung is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, "The most versatile man ever to play the game." A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote.  All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton Allen Ford. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health in late January in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.