MSU's Lewis Named To Hornung Honor Roll > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    MSU's Lewis Named To Hornung Honor Roll

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Monday, September 23, 2013 - A trio of newcomers who combined to score TDs four different ways - passing, receiving, rushing, punt return - earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll Selections exemplifying their versatility on the field.
    The Paul Hornung Award, presented by Texas Roadhouse, is awarded annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner and his family will be honored January 28, 2014, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville.
    Week Four Honorees:
    Western Kentucky running back Antonio Andrews, a Paul Hornung Award Finalist in 2012, had five scores and 291 all-purpose yards leading the Hilltoppers to a 58-17 victory over Morgan State. Andrews had 17 carries for 217 yards and five touchdowns, one kick return for 19 yards and four punt returns for 58 yards. Andrews is the only player in the nation to record five rushing touchdowns in a single game this season and recorded his fourth 200-yard rushing game of his career.
    Duke wide receiver Jamison Crowder accounted for three touchdowns (one receiving, one rushing, one punt return) and 279 all-purpose yards in a 55-51 shootout loss to Pittsburgh. Crowder had two rushes for 29 yards, seven receptions for 141 yards and three punt returns for 109 yards. His 279 all-purpose yards are the fifth-most in a single game in school history. Crowder's 141 receiving yards marked the seventh 100-yard receiving game of his career.
    Mississippi State wide receiver Jameon Lewis
    caught two passes for 96 yards and a touchdown, rushed twice for one touchdown and threw a 36-yard touchdown pass on a throwback to QB Dak Prescott. Lewis also returned two punt returns and returned a kickoff 21 yards in the first quarter, pushing him to more than 1,000 career kickoff return yards. He ended the night with 196 all-purpose yards. Lewis has now thrown, rushed, caught and returned a kick for a touchdown in his career.
    Past Paul Hornung Award Weekly Honor Roll Selections
    Week One: Odell Beckham Jr. (LSU), B.J. Catalon (TCU), Christion Jones (Alabama).
    Week Two: Odell Beckham Jr. (LSU), Shilique Calhoun (Michigan State), Tramaine Thompson (Kansas State), Trey Watts (Tulsa).
    Week Three: Marion Grice (Arizona State), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), Jeff Scott (Ole Miss), De'Anthony Thomas (Oregon), Trey Watts (Tulsa)

    Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse
    Created by the Louisville Sports Commission in 2010, the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football. The Award is designed to promote college football and help preserve the legacy of one of Kentucky's best-known and accomplished athletes who has always called Louisville home. Hornung, the 1956 Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame and NFL MVP for the Green Bay Packers, set a single season NFL scoring record that stood 46 years. Hornung is a member of the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame, and Vince Lombardi once called Hornung, "The most versatile man ever to play the game." A national selection committee comprised of 16 sports journalists and former NFL stars votes for the Hornung Award, with fan voting powered by Texas Roadhouse comprising the 17th vote.  All votes are tabulated independently by regional accounting firm Dean Dorton. The winner is honored at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health in late January in downtown Louisville. For more information, visit Fans can also follow online on Twitter (@hornungaward) and Become a Fan on Facebook.