Media Tabs Tennessee 2014 SEC WBB Champion > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Media Tabs Tennessee 2014 SEC WBB Champion

    Birmingham, Ala. -- Tennessee was predicted to win the 2014 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members. 
    As the reigning SEC regular season champions, Tennessee returns three starters from last season’s 27-8 squad that advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight, including SEC Co-Player of the Year Meighan Simmons and SEC Freshman of the Year Bashaara Graves.  
    Tennessee tops the order of finish with 192 points, with Kentucky (185), LSU (156), Texas A&M (144), Vanderbilt (134), Georgia (132) and South Carolina (131) rounding out the top half the league.  Auburn (84), Missouri (74) , Florida (67), Mississippi State (66), Arkansas (57), Ole Miss (2) and Alabama (18) round out the bottom half. 
    Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 10 votes, the remaining votes were for LSU’s Theresa Plaisance.
    Joining Simmons and Plaisance on the All-SEC First Team are DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky; Bashaara Graves, Tennessee; Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt.
    Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.  Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team and the Preseason SEC Player of the Year.
    The 2013-14 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 16-17 at The Westin Birmingham.  The SEC Women’s Basketball Coaches Poll will be released on Tuesday, November 5.
    Preseason Media Poll
    (First-Place Votes in Parentheses)
    SEC Champion: Tennessee (10); Kentucky (5)
    Player of the Year: Meighan Simmons, Tennessee (10); Theresa Plaisance, LSU (3)*
    Order of Finish 
    1. Tennessee (192)
    2. Kentucky (185)
    3. LSU (156)
    4. Texas A&M (144)
    5. Vanderbilt (134)
    6. Georgia (132)
    7. South Carolina (131)
    8. Auburn (84)
    9. Missouri (74)
    10. Florida (67)
    11. Mississippi State (66)
    12. Arkansas (57)
    13. Ole Miss (29)
    14. Alabama (18)
    Preseason All-SEC
    DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky
    Theresa Plaisance, LSU
    Bashaara Graves, Tennessee
    Meighan Simmons, Tennessee
    Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
    *Two media members did not vote for All-SEC and Player of the Year