Two SEC Linebackers Named Butkus Award Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Linebackers Named Butkus Award Semi-Finalists

    The Butkus Foundation announced the leading candidates for the 2013 Butkus Award on Monday, and the elite list includes a pair of players from the Southeastern Conference. LSU's Lamin Barrow and Alabama's C.J. Mosley each landed on the list of semi-finalists for the award, which honors the nation's top linebacker annually. 

    “This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society,” said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

    Mosley, a returning finalist from last season, has recorded 59 tackles in 2013, including 30 solo stops, to go along with 5.5 tackles for loss and a sack for No. 1 Alabama. Barrow has led the LSU defense with 64 total tackles, including three tackles in the backfield and 1.5 sacks.

    The finalists for the prestigious award will be announced on Nov. 26, and the winner will be selected on Dec. 10.

    2013 Butkus Award Semifinalists School
    Anthony Barr UCLA
    Lamin Barrow LSU
    Chris Borland Wisconsin
    Khairi Fortt California
    Khalil Mack Buffalo
    C.J. Mosley Alabama
    Denzel Perryman Miami
    Trevor Reilly Utah
    Ryan Shazier Ohio State
    Shayne Skov Stanford
    Yawin Smallwood UConn
    Kyle Van Noy BYU