SEC Turns In Three Thorpe Award Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Turns In Three Thorpe Award Semi-Finalists

    The Jim Thorpe Association announced its semi-finalists for the 2013 Thorpe Award on Monday, and three Southeastern Conference defensive backs have made the cut. The award, which is presented to the top defensive back in college football, will be announced on Feb. 4, and the finalists will be announced on Nov. 25.

    The three SEC representatives on the list are Landon Collins (Alabama), Vernon Hargreaves III (Florida) and Cody Prewitt (Ole Miss). 

    As a sophomore, Collins is second in tackles for the Crimson Tide with 34 stops and has recorded five pass breakups, one interception and one forced fumble. Hargreaves III has been a star for the Gators as a true freshman, defending seven passes while intercepting three (second highest total in the SEC). Prewitt, a junior, leads the conference and is tied for second nationally in interceptions with four to go along with five pass breakups, 48 stops and three tackles for loss. 

    2013 Thorpe Award Finalists School
    C.J. Barnett Ohio State
    Deone Bucannon Washington State
    Landon Collins Alabama
    Aaron Colvin Oklahoma
    Darqueze Dennard Michigan State
    Ifo Ekpre-Olomu Oregon
    Kyle Fuller Virginia Tech
    Vernon Hargreaves III Florida
    Lamarcus Joyner Florida State
    Steven Nelson Oregon State
    Cody Prewitt Ole Miss
    Calvin Pryor Louisville
    Jason Verrett TCU
    Jimmie Ward Northern Illinois
    Ty Zimmerman Kansas State