Four SEC Players Named Maxwell Award Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Four SEC Players Named Maxwell Award Semi-Finalists

    On Tuesday, Mawell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced the semifinalists for the 2013 Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year. Sixteen players made the cut, four of which are representatives from the Southeastern Conference. 

    Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron are repeat semi-finalists from 2012, and they are joined by fellow SEC players in Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray and TAMU wide receiver Mike Evans. McCarron, Manziel and Murray are all established signal-callers who rank among the top passers in the SEC again in 2013. Evans, a sophomore, has burst onto the scene along with Manziel, and currently leads the conference and sits second in the nation in receiving. 

    The finalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 25, and the winner will be announced on Dec. 12, 2013, as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards show, which will air on ESPN.

    2013 Maxwell Award Semi-Finalists School
    Tajh Boyd (QB) Clemson
    Teddy Bridgewater (QB) Louisville
    Ka'Deem Carey (RB) Arizona
    Derek Carr (QB) Fresno State
    Brandin Cooks (WR) Oregon State
    Mike Evans (WR) Texas A&M
    Melvin Gordon (RB) Wisconsin
    Sean Mannion (QB) Oregon State
    Johnny Manziel (QB) Texas A&M
    Marcus Mariota (QB) Oregon
    AJ McCarron (QB) Alabama
    Aaron Murray (QB) Georgia
    Bryce Petty (QB) Baylor
    Bishop Sankey (RB) Washington
    Lache Seastrunk (RB) Baylor
    Jameis Winston (QB) Florida State