SEC Produces Two Bednarik Award Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Produces Two Bednarik Award Semi-Finalists

    On Tuesday, Mawell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced the semifinalists for the 2013 Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. Among the 16 players chosen as candidates are Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Missouri defensive end Michael Sam from the Southeastern Conference.

    A senior, Mosley is currently leading the No. 1 Crimson Tide in tackles with 59 (30 solo), while also racking up 5.5 tackles for loss, a sack and three passes defended. Mosley's average of 7.4 stops per game places him at No. 8 in the league in tackles per contest.

    Sam is tied for the national lead in sacks with 10, and also leads the nation in tackles for loss with 16.

    Full list of semi-finalists for the award included below.

    2013 Bednarik Award Semi-Finalists School
    Anthony Barr (LB) UCLA
    Vic Beasley (DE) Clemson
    Chris Borland (LB) Wisconsin
    Aaron Donald (DT) Pittsburgh
    Ifo Ekpre-Olomu (CB) Oregon
    Kyle Fuller (CB) Virginia Tech
    Jackson Jeffcoat (DE) Texas
    Lamarcus Joyner (CB) Florida State
    Khalil Mack (LB) Buffalo
    C.J. Mosley (LB) Alabama
    Trent Murphy (LB) Stanford
    Michael Sam (DE) Mizzou
    Ryan Shazier (LB) Ohio State
    Kyle Van Noy (LB) BYU
    Nikita Whitlock (DT) Wake Forest
    Leonard Williams (DE) USC