SEC Produces Five Davey O'Brien Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Produces Five Davey O'Brien Semi-Finalists

    The Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee announced the 16 semi-finalists for the 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award on Monday, and the Southeastern Conference leads the nation with five players on the list. Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), AJ McCarron (Alabama), Zach Mettenberger (LSU), Aaron Murray (Georgia) and Connor Shaw (South Carolina) are the five SEC signal-callers that made the cut.

    Manziel returns to the list after winning the prestigious award in 2012. The rest of the candidates from the SEC all rank in the top seven in the league in passing.

    The three Davey O'Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

    Full list of semi-finalists below.

    2013 Davey O'Brien Award Semi-Finalists School
    Blake Bortles UCF
    Tajh Boyd Clemson
    Teddy Bridgewater Louisville
    Derek Carr Fresno State
    Brett Hundley UCLA
    Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois
    Sean Mannion Oregon State
    Johnny Manziel Texas A&M
    Marcus Mariota Oregon
    AJ McCarron Alabama
    Zach Mettenberger LSU
    Braxton Miller Ohio State
    Aaron Murray Georgia
    Bryce Petty Baylor
    Connor Shaw South Carolina
    Jameis Winston Florida State