Coaches Tab Tennessee As 2014 SEC WBB Champion > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Coaches Tab Tennessee As 2014 SEC WBB Champion

    Birmingham, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference unveiled its tenth annual women’s basketball preseason All-SEC first and second teams, Tuesday, to tip off the 2013-14 season of SEC women’s basketball.  In addition, the coaches voted on a predicted order of finish, overall champion and a preseason Player of the Year.
    Tennessee was predicted to win the Southeastern Conference women's basketball regular season championship with 167 votes.  The reigning SEC regular season champions returns three starters from last season’s NCAA Elite Eight squad, including 2013 SEC Player of the Year Meighan Simmons, 2013 SEC Freshman of the Year Bashaara Graves and World University gold medal winner Ariel Massengale.
    Kentucky, LSU, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Texas A&M and Georgia round out the top half of the league with Auburn, Missouri, Florida, Mississippi State, Arkansas, Ole Miss and Alabama rounding out the lower half.
    Tennessee’s Meighan Simmons was the choice of the coaches for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with seven votes; the remaining votes were given to Kentucky’s DeNesha Stallworth (three), LSU’s Theresa Plaisance (three) and Vanderbilt’s Christina Foggie (one).
    Joining Simmons, Stallworth, Plaisance and Foggie on the All-SEC First Team were Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina;  Bashaara Graves, Tennessee; Courtney Walker, Texas A&M; and Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
    Second team consists of Hasina Muhammad, Auburn; Jaterra Bonds, Florida; Shacobie Barbee, Georgia; Samarie Walker, Kentucky; Jennifer O'Neil, Kentucky; Danielle Ballard, LSU; Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss; Martha Alwal, Mississippi State.
    Points were compiled on a 13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for order of prediction, while each player received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote.  Coaches do not vote for their own team or players.
    The complete listing of all honors follows.
    Preseason Media Poll
    SEC Champion: Tennessee (11); Kentucky (3)
    Player of the Year: Meighan Simmons, Tennessee (7); DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky (3); Theresa Plaisance, LSU (3); Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt (1)

      Order of Finish Points
    1. Tennessee 167
    2. Kentucky 159
    3. LSU 134
    4. Vanderbilt 124
    T5. South Carolina  121
    T5. Texas A&M 121
    7. Georgia  104
    8. Auburn 72
    9. Missouri 69
    10. Florida 60
    11. Mississippi State 51
    12. Arkansas 42
    13. Ole Miss 25
    14. Alabama  24

    DeNesha Stallworth, Kentucky                  
    Theresa Plaisance, LSU                  
    Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina                  
    Bashaara Graves, Tennessee                      
    Meighan Simmons, Tennessee                  
    Courtney Walker, Texas A&M                    
    Christina Foggie, Vanderbilt                        
    Jasmine Lister, Vanderbilt
    Hasina Muhammad, Auburn
    Jaterra Bonds, Florida
    Shacobie Barbee, Georgia
    Samarie Walker, Kentucky
    Jennifer O'Neil, Kentucky
    Danielle Ballard, LSU
    Valencia McFarland, Ole Miss
    Martha Alwal, Mississippi State