SEC Produces Two Senior CLASS Award Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    SEC Produces Two Senior CLASS Award Finalists

    Ten student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected Wednesday as finalists for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award, and two players from the Southeastern Conference are on the elite list. Representing the SEC as finalists are Texas A&M offensive lineman Jake Matthews and Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron.

    To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. A complete list of finalists follows this release. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

    Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website ( through December 16. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

    Full list on finalists included below:

    Finalists School
    Chris Borland Wisconsin
    Derek Carr Fresno State
    Alden Darby Arizona State
    Gabe Ikard Oklahoma
    Jordan Lynch Northern Illinois
    Jake Matthews Texas A&M
    AJ McCarron Alabama
    Cairo Santos Tulane
    John Urschel Penn State
    Kyle Van Noy BYU