Six SEC Soccer Teams Make NCAA Field > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Six SEC Soccer Teams Make NCAA Field

    2013 NCAA Bracket (PDF)

    Six Southeastern Conference soccer teams are among the 64 that will compete for the NCAA Division I Women’s Soccer Championship, the NCAA announced today. It marks the fifth time in the last six seasons that at least six SEC teams have received postseason bids.

    Three of the SEC’s teams are national seeds with Florida earning a No. 2 seed, South Carolina a No. 3 seed and Texas A&M a No. 4 seed. Joining them in the field are Arkansas, Kentucky and Ole Miss. The Razorbacks are making their first ever NCAA Soccer Championship appearance.

    Five of the six teams earned the right to host their opening round match with Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss, South Carolina and Texas A&M playing their first contest on their home pitch.

    Arkansas will travel to Stillwater, Okla., to meet Oklahoma State in its first round matchup. Meanwhile, Jacksonville will travel to Florida, Ohio State visits Kentucky, Jackson State goes to Ole Miss, Furman travels to South Carolina and Texas A&M will host Utah.

    First-round matches will be played at campus sites November 15 and 16. Second round matches will be played Friday, November 22, at campus sites, and third-round matches will be played Sunday, November 24, at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal matches will be played November 29 and 30 also on campus sites.

    The 32nd annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 6 and December 8 at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina, with Campbell University serving as host. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5:00 p.m. Eastern time on Friday, December 6. The second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern time and air live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place Sunday, December 8 at 3:00 p.m. Eastern time and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.