Five SEC Players Named Walter Camp Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Five SEC Players Named Walter Camp Semi-Finalists

    The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifteen “Players to Watch” for its 2013 Player of the Year award, the fourth-oldest college football award in the nation.

    Among the list of semi-finalists are five student-athletes from the Southeastern Conference. Texas A&M and Alabama each landed two players on the list, with A&M's quarterback and receiver combo of Johnny Manziel and Mike Evans making the cut. Alabama is represented by senior quarterback AJ McCarron and standout linebacker C.J. Mosley on the defensive side of the football.

    The other SEC candidate comes in the form of Mizzou defensive end Michael Sam, who leads the conference and is tied for second nationally with 10 sacks in 2013.

    A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, December 2.

    The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be presented on Thursday, December 12 during the 6 p.m. edition of ESPN SportsCenter.

    Complete list of semi-finalists below, with SEC players in bold.

    Name Position Year School
    Anthony Barr Linebacker Senior UCLA
    Tajh Boyd Quarterback Senior Clemson
    Teddy Bridgewater Quarterback Junior Louisville
    Ka'Deem Carey Running Back Junior Arizona
    Derek Carr Quarterback Senior Fresno State
    Mike Evans Wide Receiver Sophomore Texas A&M
    Jordan Lynch Quarterback Senior Northern Illinois
    Johnny Manziel Quarterback Sophomore Texas A&M
    Marcus Mariota Quarterback Sophomore Oregon
    AJ McCarron Quarterback Senior Alabama
    Braxton Miller Quarterback Junior Ohio State
    C.J. Mosley Linebacker Senior Alabama
    Bryce Petty Quarterback Junior Baylor
    Michael Sam Defensive End Senior Missouri
    Jameis Winston Quarterback Freshman Florida State