Two SEC Backs Named Doak Walker Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Backs Named Doak Walker Semi-Finalists

    The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced today the ten semifinalists for the 2013 Doak Walker Award, and a pair of running backs from the Southeastern Conference are included. 

    Auburn's Tre Mason, who ranks third in the SEC in rushing yards per game and second in rushing yards overall, made the cut for the prestigious award alongside South Carolina's Mike Davis, who currently leads the league in rushing. Mason's 16 touchdowns are the most by any back in the league and have helped Auburn complete an incredible turnaround in 2013. Davis has reached the end zone 10 times on the ground to help the Gamecocks stay in the race for the SEC Eastern Division.

    Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2013 finalists. On Monday, November 25, three finalists will be named. A second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2013 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12, on ESPN.
    The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Complete list of semi-finalists below.

    Player School
    Ameer Abdullah Nebraska
    Antonio Andrews Western Kentucky
    Ka'Deem Carey Arizona
    Mike Davis South Carolina
    Tyler Gaffney Stanford
    Melvin Gordon Wisconsin
    Tre Mason Auburn
    Bishop Sankey Washington
    Lache Seastrunk Baylor
    Andre Williams Boston College