Three SEC Receivers Named Biletnikoff Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Three SEC Receivers Named Biletnikoff Semi-Finalists

    On Monday, The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., announced the 10 Semifinalists for the 2013 Biletnikoff Award, given to the nation's top receiver. Among the candidates are three pass-catchers from the Southeastern Conference: LSU's Odell Beckham Jr., Texas A&M's Mike Evans and Vanderbilt's Jordan Matthews.

    "The universe of players who could win the Biletnikoff Award is vast," Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron said. "College football is replete with many hundreds of fine receivers at numerous positions, including wide receiver, tight end, running back, and slotback. The depth and quality of the 2013 crop of excellent receivers is the deepest in memory. We congratulate all of our watch list receivers for their play and we commend the ten finalists for outstanding seasons. Our eminent 214 person National Selection Committee certainly has had a very difficult duty in selecting the ten semifinalist; we thank them for their devotion to this task."

    Evans, Matthews and Beckham Jr. are currently the top three receivers in the SEC. Evans leads the way with 1,263 yards on 57 receptions (22.1 average) to go along with 12 touchdowns for Texas A&M. Matthews leads all SEC receivers in catches with 83 for 1,076 yards (12.9 average) and five touchdowns for Vandy. Beckham Jr. has also been outstanding with 51 grabs for 1,051 yards (20.6 average) and eight scores. 

    Fans may now help determine which three receivers will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at the Biletnikoff Award Fan Vote website. Fan voting will close on November 24th. The three Finalists will be announced on Monday, November 25th. The Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced live on ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12, 2013.

    Full list of semi-finalists included below.

    Player School
    Davante Adams Fresno State
    Jace Amaro Texas Tech
    Odell Beckham Jr. LSU
    Brandin Cooks Oregon State
    Mike Evans Texas A&M
    Antwan Goodley Baylor
    Jordan Matthews Vanderbilt
    Allen Robinson Penn State
    Willie Snead Ball State
    Sammy Watkins Clemson