Three SEC Coaches Are Maxwell Semi-Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Three SEC Coaches Are Maxwell Semi-Finalists

    Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2013 semifinalists for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. The list includes a field of 16 candidates for the award which have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee.

    Three of the 16 semi-finalists are from Southeastern Conference schools: Alabama's Nick Saban, Auburn's Gus Malzahn and Missouri's Gary Pinkel.

    Saban has the Crimson Tide sitting undefeated and in control of their destiny in the Western Division and national title races. Auburn is right on Alabama's heels at 10-1 overall, with the Iron Bowl still left to play on Nov. 30. Pinkel has led Mizzou to a 9-1 record and the Tigers currently sit in first place in the SEC's Eastern Division with two games to play.

    Semifinalist voting for of the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year award will begin on Thursday, November 21st and close on Monday December 2nd. Finalist voting will take place from December 3rd to December 15th and the winner will be announced on December 17th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. Bill O’Brien of Penn State University was the 2012 winner of the award.

    The full list of semi-finalists in included below in alphabetical order by school.

    Coach School
    Nick Saban Alabama
    Gus Malzahn Auburn
    Art Briles Baylor
    Steve Addazio Boston College
    Dabo Swinney Clemson
    David Cutcliffe Duke
    Tim DeRuyter Fresno State
    Jimbo Fisher Florida State
    Mark Dantonio Michigan State
    Gary Pinkel Missouri
    Rod Carey Northern Illinois
    Urban Meyer Ohio State
    Mike Gundy Oklahoma State
    George O'Leary UCF
    Ed Orgeron USC
    Gary Andersen Wisconsin