Two SEC Defenders Named Nagurski Finalists > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Defenders Named Nagurski Finalists

    Five finalists for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy were announced on Thursday by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, and two of the five are players from the Southeastern Conference.

    Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley made the cut alongside Missouri defensive end Michael Sam. The award is presented to the national defensive player of the year.

    Mosley has recorded 81 tackles in 2013, included seven tackles for loss, to go along with five pass breakups and a forced fumble. Sam is currently leading the SEC and is tied for seventh nationally with 10 sacks. His 16 tackles for loss are first in the conference and tied for sixth in the nation, and he has one forced fumble and a fumble return for a touchdown to boot.

    The winner will be announced on Dec. 9 and presented the Bronko Nagurski Trophy at a gala banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Florida Coach Will Muschamp will give the keynote address.

    Candidates listed below in alphabetical order.

    Player School
    Darqueze Dennard (CB) Michigan State
    Aaron Donald (DT) Pittsburgh
    Lamarcus Joyner (CB) Florida State
    C.J. Mosley (LB) Alabama
    Michael Sam (DE) Missouri