Eight SEC Teams Advance to NCAA Volleyball Tournament > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Eight SEC Teams Advance to NCAA Volleyball Tournament

    NCAA Tourney Bracket (PDF)

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The NCAA announced the 64-team bracket for the 2013 NCAA Volleyball Championships Sunday evening and the Southeastern Conference qualified eight teams for the tournament. The SEC Champion Missouri Tigers garnered a No. 4 national seed while Florida (No. 5) and Kentucky (No. 15) also earned national seeds. Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, LSU and Texas A&M earned at-large bids to the tournament.

    Missouri (34-0, 18-0 SEC), selected for its 11th NCAA Tournament in 14 seasons, will host IUPUI (19-13), Central Arkansas (27-3) and Purdue (20-11) in first and second round action on Dec. 6-7 in Columbia, Mo. Mizzou takes on the Sugar Bears of Central Arkansas on Friday, Dec. 6. Second round action is slated for Saturday, Dec. 7.

    Florida (27-3, 16-2 SEC), the No. 5 overall seed, squares off with Jacksonville (30-3) in the opening round on Thursday, Dec. 5 in Gainesville, Fla. The winner of that match will face Georgia Southern (28-5) or Florida State (24-7) in the second round on Friday, Dec. 6. This marks the 23rd consecutive season and 24th overall for the Gators to advance to the NCAA Tournament.

    Kentucky (21-8, 13-5 SEC) plays host to Duquesne on Friday, Dec. 6 in Lexington, Ky. The winner of the UK-Duquesne match will face Ohio (27-5) or Michigan State (21-11) on Saturday, Dec. 7. The Wildcats were selected to its school-record ninth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and the 15th in program history.

    Alabama (24-9, 11-7 SEC) is making its first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2007. The Crimson Tide will battle Oklahoma (23-7) on Thursday, Dec. 5 in Stanford, Calif. Should the Tide advance, they will face the winner of Stanford (24-5) and Hampton (19-10) in the second round on Friday, Dec. 6.

    Arkansas (16-13, 9-9 SEC), making its second NCAA Tournament appearance in as many years, faces Creighton (22-8) in first round action on Friday, Dec. 6 in Lawrence, Kan. The Arkansas-Creighton matchup is part of the sub-region that also includes No. 14 national seed Kansas and Wichita State. Overall, Arkansas will be making its 11th NCAA appearance.

    Georgia (22-9, 11-7 SEC) is making an NCAA tournament appearance for the first time since 2004. The Bulldogs open tournament play against American (32-2) on Friday, Dec. 6 in Durham, N.C. The winner will face either College of Charleston (25-5) or host Duke (27-4) in the second round.

    The LSU Tigers (18-12, 8-10 SEC) will travel to Seattle, Wash. to take on Michigan (18-13) on Friday, Dec. 6. The other two teams at the site include the host, No. 3 overall seed Washington (26-2), and Alabama State (25-15) out of the SWAC. LSU secured its 13th NCAA Tournament appearance.

    Texas A&M (18-11, 10-8 SEC) makes the short trip to Austin to face UT San Antonio (24-7) in the Texas sub-regional on Friday, Dec. 6. The host Longhorns (23-2) and Texas State (24-12) will face off in the other first-round match. The two first-round winners will play on Saturday for a berth to the Sweet 16. A&M has appeared in 21 NCAA tournaments all-time.

    Pre-determined regional sites include Los Angeles, Calif., Lexington, Ky., Champaign, Ill. and Lincoln, Neb. on Dec. 13-14. The regional semifinals will be broadcast live on ESPN3 while regional finals will air on ESPNU. The national semifinals and championship match will be held Dec. 19 and 21 in Seattle, Wash. The latter will air live on ESPN2 on Dec. 21 at 9:30 p.m. ET.