Auburn Wins 2013 SEC Football Championship > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Auburn Wins 2013 SEC Football Championship

    By: Sean Cartell
    Twitter: @SEC_Sean
    SEC Digital Network

    Box Score (PDF) | Auburn Quotes (PDF) | Missouri Quotes (PDF) | Photo Gallery

    ATLANTA - Tre Mason rushed for 304 yards Saturday at the Georgia Dome to lead No. 3 Auburn to a 59-42 win against No. 5 Missouri in the highest-scoring Southeastern Conference Championship Game in the event's 22-year history.

    It marked the third all-time SEC Championship for Auburn (12-1), which also won the game in 2004 and 2010.

    Mason, the 2013 SEC Championship Game Most Valuable Player, rushed 46 times for 304 yards with four touchdowns. The previous SEC Championship game rushing record was 201 yards by LSU’s Justin Vincent in 2003.

    The 101 combined points scored between the teams shattered the previous record of 75 combined points scored between Florida and Alabama in the 1996 edition of the game.

    Auburn racked up 677 yards of total offense, including 545 on the ground. Quarterback Nick Marshall, who went 9-of-11 through the air for 132 yards and one touchdown, rushed for 115 yards with a score. Marshall and Mason combined for 421 of their team’s 545 rushing yards.

    Auburn wide receiver Sammie Coates caught six passes for 94 yards with his team’s first touchdown.

    Missouri (11-2) quarterback James Franklin went 21-of-37 for 303 yards with three scoring strikes. Tailback Henry Josey rushed nine times for 123 yards, while Franklin himself accumulated 62 yards on the ground. Wide receiver Dorial Green-Beckham finished with six catches for 144 yards.

    The two teams battled evenly for much of the game. Auburn held a 28-27 advantage at halftime, as the squads combined for an SEC Championship record 55 first-half points.

    Missouri led 34-31 with 5:35 remaining in the game following a 10-yard touchdown reception by Marcus Murphy. That’s when Auburn scored back-to-back touchdowns in a less-than-three-minute span to extend its advantage to 45-34 with 31 seconds left in the third period.

    Missouri’s Franklin responded with a five-yard run for touchdown to cap the third quarter and bring his team within three, 45-42. Mason answered with a pair of fourth-quarter touchdowns to seal the 59-42 victory.

    Statistical Leaders

    Passing - Nick Marshall, 9-for-11, 132 yards, TD
    Rushing - Tre Mason, 45 car, 303 yards, 4 TD
    Receiving - Sammie Coales, 6 rec, 94 yards, TD

    Passing - James Franklin, 21-for-37, 303 yards, 3 TD, INT
    Rushing - Henry Josey, 9 rec, 123 yards
    Receiving - Dorial Green-Beckham, 6 rec, 144 yards, 2 TD

    Post-Game Notes

    • Auburn’s Tre Mason is the MVP. He is the third running back to take home the honor. It is the second consecutive
    year a running back has won (Eddie Lacy, Alabama, 2012; Justin Vincent, LSU, 2003). Other Auburn MVP’s include
    Jason Campbell in 2004 and Cam Newton in 2010.
    • Auburn wins its eighth SEC title and first since 2010. The Tigers are tied with Florida for the fifth-most SEC titles.
    • Auburn has won its last three championship game appearances (2004, 2010, 2013) after starting 0-2 (1997, 2000).
    • The 101 combined points is a game record, smashing the 73 done in 2010 (Auburn 56, South Carolina 17). The 55
    combined first half points was also a record, bettering the 42 done in that same game. The halftime total was more
    than the combined total of 15 previous championship games.
    • Auburn’s Tre Mason set three individual championship game rushing marks.
    o His 304 rushing yards bettered the 201 set by LSU’s Justin Vincent in 2003. Mason had 195 on 23 carries
    in the first half. The 304 yards is also the fifth-highest total in conference history and three shy of the
    Auburn school record of 307 held by Curtis Kuykendall vs. Miami in 1944.
    o His 46 rushing attempts bettered the 31 set by Tennessee’s Jamal Lewis in 1997. That total is the
    second-most in SEC history trailing only the 47 by Georgia’s Herschel Walker against Florida in 1981.
    o His four rushing touchdowns broke Alabama’s Mark Ingram’s 2009 total and the most scores in the
    game with Florida’s Reidel Anthony in 1996 and LSU’s Kenny Hilliard in 2011 who had three apiece.
    o His 52-yard run was the sixth-longest in the championship game.
    • Auburn set championship game team records for rushing first downs, rushing attempts, rushing yards and rushing
    touchdowns with 26, 74, 545 and seven, respectively. It broke Alabama records of 53 attempts in 2009, 18 rushing
    first downs and 350 rushing yards in 2012. There were three rushing TDs done multiple times.
    • The eight offensive touchdowns (7 rush, 1 pass) is a game record, eclipsing the seven done by Auburn in the 2010
    • Auburn also set a championship game record with 677 yards of total offense on 85 plays. It broke the mark of 589 it
    established in the 2010 game against South Carolina. The teams combined for 1211 yards of total offense, bettering
    the previous mark of 938 set in the 2010 game. The 85 plays tied Georgia’s 2011 and Auburn’s 2004 totals.
    • Missouri SS Braylon Webb set a game record with 20 tackles, breaking the mark of 18 held by Tennessee LB Omar
    Gaither in 2004.
    • Tonight’s attendance of 75,632 is the third-highest championship game total in the Georgia Dome. The two higher
    marks are 75,892 in 2008 and 75,802 in 2010.
    • For the second consecutive championship a team has boasted a pair of 100-yard rushers. Tre Mason (304) and Nick
    Marshall (101) accomplished the feat this year. Alabama’s Eddie Lacy (181) and T.J. Yeldon (153) did it last year.
    • Auburn’s Cody Parkey made a championship game record 52-yard field goal at 8:17 in the third quarter. It bettered
    the 51 done on three previous occasions. Parkey’s 54-yard field goal attempt in the first quarter was the longest
    attempt in championship game history. The previous long attempt was 52 by Todd Latourette of Arkansas in 1995.
    • Missouri’s Henry Josey’s 65-yard run is the fifth-longest in the championship game. His 123 rushing yards is the
    eighth-highest total.
    • Missouri’s Dorial Green-Beckham’s 144 receiving yards is the fourth most in the championship game.
    • The Western Conference representative has won the last five championship games to even the all-time record at 11
    wins apiece between the divisions.
    • Nick Marshall’s 11 pass attempts is a championship game low. The previous mark was 12 attempts by Georgia in
    2005. Marshall completed his first six pass attempts.