Eight SEC Players On AFCA All-America Team > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Eight SEC Players On AFCA All-America Team

    The American Football Coaches Association released its All-America selections Wednesday, and eight players from the Southeastern Conference headline the team. 

    The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions. What makes these teams so special is that they are the only ones chosen exclusively by the men who know the players the best — the coaches themselves.

    The first team is led by Alabama senior quarterback AJ McCarron, who earned himself a spot in New York last weekend as a Heisman Trophy finalist. Texas A&M receiver Mike Evans joins McCarron on the outside, while Alabama's Cyrus Kouandjio and A&M's Jake Matthews accompany him on the offensive line. 

    On the other side of the ball, Missouri's Michael Sam and South Carolina's Jadeveon Clowney highlight the selections on the defensive line at the end positions. Butkus Award winning linebacker C.J. Mosely is one of three linebackers on the first team, while fellow Alabama defender Ha Ha Clinton-Dix occupies one of the safety spots.

    Full list of AFCA All-Americans included below.


    WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M
    WR Sammy Watkins, Clemson
    TE Jace Amaro, Texas Tech
    OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
    OL Cyril Richardson, Baylor
    C Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma
    OL Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama
    OL David Yankey, Stanford
    QB AJ McCarron, Alabama
    RB Andre Williams, Boston College
    RB Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona


    DL Michael Sam, Missouri
    DL Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
    DL Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
    DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
    LB Trent Murphy, Stanford
    LB Anthony Barr, UCLA
    LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama
    DB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
    DB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State
    DB Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
    DB Ahmad Dixon, Baylor


    P Tom Hornsey, Memphis
    PK Anthony Fera, Texas
    AP Ty Montgomery, Stanford