31 From SEC Schools Headed To Super Bowl > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    31 From SEC Schools Headed To Super Bowl

    BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – A nation-leading 31 players hailing from current Southeastern Conference institutions are on the rosters of the Denver Broncos and Seattle Seahawks, the two National Football League teams who will square off for Super Bowl XLVIII on February 2.

    Players listed on rosters for the two squads who hail from current SEC institutions total 31. The next closest conference is the Pacific-12, from which its current institutions boast 23.

    Impressively, Tennessee leads the nation with five players who are on Super Bowl XLVIII rosters.

    In Sunday’s AFC and NFC Championship Games, the percentage of players hailing from current SEC institutions represented 20 percent of the active rosters of the four squads.

    SEC IN THE SUPER BOWL  - 31 (Based on current 14 member schools)

    Denver Broncos (14)
    • DE Robert Ayers, Tennessee
    • DB Champ Bailey, Georgia
    • WR Andre Caldwell, Florida
    • P Britton Colquitt, Tennessee
    • WR Trindon Holliday, LSU
    • DE Malik Jackson, Tennessee
    • QB Peyton Manning, Tennessee
    • LB Lerentee McCray, Florida (Injured Reserve)
    • LB Von Miller, Texas A&M (Injured Reserve)  
    • RB Knowshon Moreno, Georgia
    • DE Jeremy Mincy, Florida
    • TE Jacob Tamme, Kentucky
    • LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
    • LB Wesley Woodyard, Kentucky

    Seattle Seahawks (17)
    • CB Akeem Auguste, South Carolina (Practice squad)
    • OT Alvin Bailey, Arkansas
    • DE Michael Bennett, Texas A&M  
    • DE Red Bryant, Texas A&M  
    • OG James Carpenter, Alabama
    • DT Dewayne Cherrington, Mississippi State (Practice squad)
    • WR Arceto Clark, Mississippi State (Practice squad)
    • DE Chris Clemons, Georgia
    • WR Percy Harvin, Florida
    • OG/C Lemuel Jeanpierre, South Carolina
    • DT Tony McDaniel, Tennessee
    • RB Christine Michael, Texas A&M
    • WR Sidney Rice, South Carolina (Injured Reserve)
    • CB Tharold Simon, LSU (Injured Reserve)
    • FB Spencer Ware, LSU (Injured Reserve)
    • DT Jesse Williams, Alabama (Injured Reserve)
    • LB KJ Wright, Mississippi State

    Conference Breakdown
    SEC - 31
    Pac-12 - 23
    Big Ten - 16
    Mountain West - 13
    ACC - 13
    Big 12 - 13
    AAC - 9
    Conference USA - 5
    Big Sky - 4
    Colonial - 3
    MAC - 3
    Missouri Valley - 3
    Patriot League - 2
    Sun Belt - 2

    (Editorial Assistance provided by Al.com; Saturday Down South; NFL.com)