Two SEC Players Added To 'Wade Watch' List > SEC > NEWS
  • JOIN THE SECNATION   Register / Login

    Two SEC Players Added To 'Wade Watch' List

    ATLANTA (Feb. 10, 2014) – The Wade Trophy Committee has added 10 additional student-athletes to the 2014 “Wade Watch” list, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, announced today.
    Joining the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch hopefuls are Tiffany Bias of Oklahoma State, Hallie Christofferson of Iowa State, Christina Foggie of Vanderbilt, Markeisha Gatling of N.C. State, Dearica Hamby of Wake Forest, Natasha Howard of Florida State, Alexis Jones of Duke, Tricia Liston of Duke, Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, and Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina. 
    The Wade Trophy Coalition presents The Wade Trophy to the nation’s most outstanding NCAA® Division I women’s basketball player each year – one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability. 
    The Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. The Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce The Wade Trophy winner at the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show on Monday, April 7, which is part of the 2014 WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four®, in Nashville.
    Here is the complete 2014 State Farm Wade Watch list:

    Name Institution Position Year
    Natalie Achonwa Notre Dame Forward Senior
    Rachel Banham Minnesota Guard Junior
    Tiffany Bias Oklahoma State Guard Senior
    Brittany Bates California Guard Junior
    Gennifer Brandon California Forward Senior
    Hallie Christofferson Iowa State Forward  Senior
    Jerica Coley FIU Guard Senior
    Stefanie Dolson UConn Center Senior
    Aaryn Ellenberg Oklahoma Guard Senior
    Christina Foggie Vanderbilt Guard Senior
    Markeisha Gatling N.C. State Center Senior
    Bashaara Graves Tennessee Forward Sophomore
    Chelsea Gray Duke Guard Senior
    Dearica Hamby Wake Forest Forward Junior
    Bria Hartley UConn Guard Senior
    Jordan Hooper Nebraska Forward Senior
    Natasha Howard Florida State Forward Senior
    Alexis Jones Duke Guard Sophomore
    Tricia Liston Duke Guard Senior
    Jewell Loyd Notre Dame Guard Sophomore
    Maggie Lucas Penn State Guard Senior
    Tyaunna Marshall Georgia Tech Guard  Senior
    Kayle McBride Notre Dame Guard Senior
    Tiffany Mitchell South Carolina Guard Sophomore
    Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis UConn Forward Junior
    Chiney Oqwumike Stanford Forward Senior
    Theresa Plaisance LSU Forward Senior
    Ebony Rowe Middle Tennessee Forward Senior
    Shoni Schimmel Louisville Guard Senior
    Meighan Simmons Tennessee Guard Senior
    Odyssey Sims Baylor Guard Senior
    DeNesha Stallworth Kentucky Forward Senior
    Breanna Stewart UConn Forward Sophomore
    Alyssa Thomas Maryland Forward Senior
    Elizabeth Williams Duke Center/Forward Senior
    The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS), now known as the Society of Health and Physical Educators, doing business as SHAPE America. For the past 11 years the two have worked together to present The Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.
    About the Society of Health and Physical Educators:
    The Society of Health and Physical Educators, doing business as SHAPE America, is headquartered in Reston, VA, 25 miles west of Washington, D.C. Its vision is "Healthy People – Physically Educated and Physically Active!" SHAPE America is the largest organization of professionals involved in physical education, physical activity, and school health--all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle. Its mission is to advance professional practice and promote research related to health and physical education, physical activity, dance and sport by providing its members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support and programs to help practitioners improve their skills to further the health and well-being of the American public. For more information, visit
    About the WBCA:
    Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit